04

Belgian National OrchestraAndrew Gourlay conductor – Lorenzo Gatto violin

Programme

Extenso, solo n° 2 pour orchestre Pascal Dusapin
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra no. 4, op. 31 Henry Vieuxtemps
Pictures at an exhibition (orchestration Maurice Ravel) Modest Mussorgsky


ORIGINALS

“A symphony with a violin solo” is how the composer Hector Berlioz described Henri Vieuxtemps’s Violin Concerto No. 4. And the orchestra does indeed play a prominent role in this composition. Vieuxtemps makes the listener wait for the soloist, opening his concerto with a stately andante for the orchestra instead. Even so, the violinist is the real star of this concert. This evening we are lucky to have the Belgian rising star Lorenzo Gatto as the soloist. We will celebrate with him the 200th birth year of Henri Vieuxtemps, which was born in Verviers in 1820.

Various arrangements exist of Mussorgsky’s Pictures from an Exhibition, but Maurice Ravel’s is by far the best known. He colours every painting in his own unique way, even composing a solo for saxophone, an instrument which had just been invented at the time, and was not traditionally used in a symphony orchestra. From now on we will have to look at Hartmann’s paintings, which inspired this composition, through this music. The original canvases were unfortunately lost.

Exceptionally, this concert is planned on a Saturday.
 

Did you know?

  • A French composer in Brussels

    Portrait: Pascal Dusapin

    What brings together violinist Renaud Capuçon, organist Olivier Latry, the Danel Quartet, the Belgian National Orchestra and La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra? Answer: BOZAR’s tribute to French composer Pascal Dusapin. It is an obvious choice to highlight the work of this gifted musician, who has distinguished himself in every genre – with solo, chamber, symphony, and vocal works – and has developed a long-standing relationship with Belgium and La Monnaie.

    — published on
  • PORTRAIT DUSAPIN 3 INSTRUMENTAL GEMS

    Following his glorious opera Macbeth Underworld at La Monnaie, composer Pascal Dusapin remains a focal point of the season. In February, visitors will be delighted by three of his most stunning instrumental pieces… including a Belgian premiere.

    — published on

01

Belgian National OrchestraAndrew Gourlay direction – Lorenzo Gatto violon

Programme

Extenso, solo n° 2 pour orchestre Pascal Dusapin
Concerto pour violon et orchestre n° 4, op. 31 Henry Vieuxtemps
Tableaux d'une exposition (orchestration Maurice Ravel) Modest Mussorgsky


ORIGINALS

« Une symphonie avec un violon soliste » : c’est ainsi que le compositeur Hector Berlioz décrivit le Quatrième Concerto pour violon d’Henri Vieuxtemps. À juste titre, car dans cette œuvre, l’orchestre joue un rôle de premier plan. Vieuxtemps nous fait patienter avant l’entrée du soliste, ouvrant le concerto avec un Andante orchestral solennel. Pourtant, c’est bien le soliste qui se voit confier le rôle principal, magnifié par Lorenzo Gatto, l’étoile montante du violon belge. Nous célébrerons avec lui le 200e anniversaire de la naissance de Henri Vieuxtemps, né à Verviers en 1820.
Il existe de nombreux arrangements des Tableaux d’une exposition de Moussorgski, mais celui de Ravel est de loin le plus célèbre. Il colore chaque tableau d’une manière unique, incluant notamment un solo de saxophone, un instrument qui venait d’être inventé et ne faisait pas partie de l’orchestre symphonique traditionnel. La puissance de la musique aidera notre imagination à se représenter les peintures de Hartmann qui inspirèrent l’œuvre et dont les originaux ont malheureusement été perdus.

Attention : Ce concert aura exceptionnellement lieu un samedi.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Un compositeur français à Bruxelles

    Portait: Pascal Dusapin

    Qu’est-ce qui réunit le violoniste Renaud Capuçon, l’organiste Olivier Latry, le Quatuor Danel, le Belgian National Orchestra et l’Orchestre symphonique de la Monnaie ? Réponse : le portrait que BOZAR consacre au compositeur français Pascal Dusapin. Une résidence qui s’imposait puisque ce musicien surdoué qui s’illustre dans tous les genres – musique soliste, de chambre,  symphonique, vocale… –, a noué de longue date une relation privilégiée avec la Belgique et la Monnaie.

    — publié le
  • PORTRAIT DUSAPIN : 3 PÉPITES DE SON ŒUVRE INSTRUMENTALE

    Après la création glorieuse de son opéra Macbeth Underworld à la Monnaie, le compositeur Pascal Dusapin reste au programme de la saison musicale. En février, trois de ses œuvres instrumentales les plus étonnantes s’offrent à vos oreilles... dont une création belge.

    — publié le