16

Chris Kraus has become somewhat of a cult icon for young, intelligent women who love art, feminism and literature. The 64-year old writer and film-maker shot to fame a few years ago following the international rediscovery of her novel I love Dick in spite of working as an art critic and editor for decades. After twenty years of being under the radar, the book became an international success, a television series and an Internet phenomenon (check the hashtag #chriskraus - #ilovedick is now censored).
But Kraus has done so much more than write this one book. In addition to penning a series of fantastic novels, her art criticism is unique. She uncovers the patriarchal culture of the art world in a wry and lucid manner, interspersing airy ruminations with shrewd wisdom.

Prior to being a successful writer, Kraus made several alternative experimental films. She regularly reflects on her failed film career in her books.
The British writer Natasha Soobramanien will talk to the writer and the film-maker during this literary evening at BOZAR.
The discussion will be followed by a screening of Gravity & Grace (1996), Kraus’s last film.
The film, which is named after one of Simone Weil’s books, tells the story of two young women in New Zealand. Grace is fascinated by space ships, sects and the Day of Reckoning, while Gravity moves to New York to attempt an artistic career.

25

Chris Kraus est l’idole des jeunes femmes intelligentes passionnées par l’art, le féminisme et la littérature. Active depuis des dizaines d’années, cette écrivaine et cinéaste de 64 ans s’est fait connaître récemment, à la suite de la redécouverte internationale de son roman I love Dick. Vingt ans après sa parution, cet ouvrage est devenu un phénomène mondial, a été adapté en série télévisée et a fait le buzz sur la toile (faites une recherche sur le hashtag #chriskraus – #ilovedick a quant à lui été censuré).
Mais l’univers de Chris Kraus ne se limite pas à ce seul livre. Elle a non seulement écrit une série de romans fantastiques, mais aussi des critiques d’art uniques en leur genre. De manière très lucide, elle révèle les structures patriarchales du monde artistique et alterne des considérations légères avec des pensées plus subtiles.

Avant de connaître le succès en tant qu’écrivaine, Chris Kraus avait réalisé quelques films expérimentaux alternatifs. Dans ses ouvrages, elle revient souvent sur sa carrière cinématographique avortée. 
Pendant la soirée à BOZAR, l’auteure britannique Natasha Soobramanien s’entretiendra avec l’écrivaine et cinéaste.
Le long métrage Gravity & Grace (1996), avec lequel Chris Kraus a terminé sa carrière de réalisatrice, sera diffusé après la discussion.
Le film, qui porte le titre d’un livre de Simone Weil, raconte l’histoire de deux jeunes femmes en Nouvelle-Zélande : Grace est préoccupée par des vaisseaux spatiaux, des sectes et l’apocalypse, tandis que Gravity se rend à New York pour tenter sa chance comme jeune artiste.