23

Jef Neve piano, composition – Pieter Jansen violin – Christophe Pochet violin – Steven De Roeck viola – Anthony Gröger cello – Nathan Wouters double-bass – Nicolas Kummert tenor saxophone – Andy Dhondt saxophone – Teus Nobel trumpet – Bart Indevuyst horn – Pieter Kindt trombone – Peter Maus organ

Programme

Lush Life Billy Strayhorn
I mean you Thelonious Monk
Resurrection Jef Neve
Announcement Jef Neve
Exclamation Jef Neve
Perseverance Jef Neve
Adagium Jef Neve
Reaction Jef Neve
Finale Jef Neve
Vagrants Colony, a hymn Jef Neve


Neve was dubbed the “crown prince of Belgian jazz” and toured with Natalia and Gabriel Rios, as well as pianist Liebrecht Vanbeckevoort with the show If Mozart and Monk were Brothers. He also composed the soundtracks for acclaimed films De helaasheid der dingen and Dagen zonder lief. Since the early days of his career Jef Neve has been the perfect bridge builder between classical, jazz and pop music. For BOZAR he has created a new organ composition. Enjoy this world creation, with Jef Neve on piano and accompanied by the Jef Neve Ensemble.

Did you know?

  • Interview

    Jef Neve takes on a new challenge

    Jef Neve has shared stages with artists as varied as Natalia, Gabriel Rios and Teus Nobel. He’s also made a name for himself as a composer: he has written two piano concertos and has worked on film scores including Felix van Groeningen’s The Misfortunates and the Oscar-winning box office hit The Artist. However, BOZAR has presented Jef Neve with a new challenge: to write a brand-new piece of work for organ and his Jef Neve Ensemble!  

    — published on

16

Jef Neve piano, composition – Pieter Jansen violon – Christophe Pochet violon – Steven De Roeck violon alto – Anthony Gröger violoncelle – Nathan Wouters contrebasse – Nicolas Kummert saxophone ténor – Andy Dhondt saxophone – Teus Nobel trompette – Bart Indevuyst cor – Pieter Kindt trombone – Peter Maus orgue

Programme

Lush Life Billy Strayhorn
I mean you Thelonious Monk
Resurrection Jef Neve
Announcement Jef Neve
Exclamation Jef Neve
Perseverance Jef Neve
Adagium Jef Neve
Reaction Jef Neve
Finale Jef Neve
Vagrants Colony, a hymn Jef Neve


Celui que l’on surnomme le « prince héritier du jazz belge » s’est produit en tournée avec Natalia en Gabriel Rios, mais aussi avec le pianiste Liebrecht Vanbeckevoort, pour le projet intitulé If Mozart and Monk were Brothers. Il a aussi composé des musiques de film, entre autres les bandes originales de La merditude des choses et Avec des amis. Dès le début de sa carrière, Jef Neve opère une synthèse parfaite entre le classique, le jazz et la pop. À la demande de BOZAR, il a créé une nouvelle composition pour orgue. Avec son ensemble, le pianiste Jef Neve en personne interprétera cette œuvre en première mondiale.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Interview

    Le son neuf de Jef Neve

    Le pianiste Jef Neve a partagé la scène avec des artistes en tous genres tels que Natalia, Gabriel Rios ou Teus Nobel. Il s’est aussi fait connaître comme compositeur, signant deux concertos pour piano et collaborant à des musiques de films, dont La Merditude des choses de Felix van Groeningen et The Artist, qui a remporté plusieurs Oscars. À la demande de BOZAR, Jef Neve se voit confier un nouveau défi : écrire une nouvelle œuvre réunissant l’orgue et son propre ensemble orchestral.

    — publié le