14

The TENDENCIES exhibition focuses on works that question scientific and technological innovations as much as they incorporate them. For this fourth edition, it looks at our relationship with possible futures, be they dystopian or utopian. Sound and visual installations by six artists, Marjolijn Dijkman, Jerry Galle, Mikkel Rørbo, Kris Verdonck, Pierre Jean Giloux, and the SEAD collective, are brought together to provoke an overview effect, like that experienced by certain astronauts when they observe Earth from space and realise how fragile life is.

Will artificial intelligence help all human beings to live together on Earth intelligently or, on the contrary, will it reveal our own limitations and those of our development strategy? TENDENCIES tries to find an answer…

 

Curator: Raphaël Stevens, independent researcher, essayist, author of 'Comment tout peut s’effondrer' with Pablo Servigne (Seuil, 2015), 'Petit traité de résilience locale' with Agnès Sinaï (ECLM, 2015) and 'Une autre fin du monde est possible' with Pablo Servigne and Gauthier Chapelle (Seuil, 2018).

Previously

16

L’exposition TENDENCIES met en lumière des œuvres qui questionnent autant qu’elles incorporent des innovations scientifiques et technologiques. Pour sa quatrième édition, elle interroge notre rapport aux futurs possibles, qu’ils soient dystopiques ou utopiques. Les installations sonores et visuelles de six artistes, Marjolijn Dijkman, Jerry Galle, Mikkel Rørbo, Kris Verdonck, Pierre Jean Giloux, le collectif SEAD sont rassemblées pour provoquer un effet de surplomb (« overview effect »), comme celui ressenti par certains astronautes lorsqu’ils observent la Terre depuis l’espace et prennent conscience de la fragilité de la vie.

L’intelligence artificielle nous aidera-t-elle à habiter la Terre en bonne intelligence avec l’ensemble des êtres vivants ou au contraire nous dévoilera-t-elle nos propres limites et celles de notre mode de développement ? TENDENCIES tente de répondre…

 

Commissaire : Raphaël Stevens, chercheur indépendant, essayiste, auteur de 'Comment tout peut s’effondrer' avec Pablo Servigne (Seuil, 2015), 'Petit traité de résilience locale' avec Agnès Sinaï (ECLM, 2015) et 'Une autre fin du monde est possible' avec Pablo Servigne et Gauthier Chapelle (Seuil, 2018).

Précédemment