04

Full programme: 

26.03: Branford Marsalis Solo 
27.03: Belgian National Orchestra feat. Branford Marsalis 
28.03: Branford Marsalis Quartet

Is there any other artist quite as versatile as Branford Marsalis? The eldest of the world-renowned Marsalis brothers started out, alongside his brother, famous trumpet player Wynton, with the great Art Blakey before embarking on his own career. He made a great impression while playing with Sting, whose massive hit Englishman in New York featured his famous solo, and he then took on a steady job as the leader of Jay Leno’s Tonight Show Band.  

Even so, it wasn’t until the early 90s that he really began to make his own mark artistically. His quartet changed the outlook of jazz forever by combining artistic freedom with disciplined virtuosity. This quartet is still one of the top ensembles playing acoustic jazz, touring the world’s most prestigious concert venues. In this period he also founded the Buckshot Le Fonque band.  Inspired by collaborations with the likes of Sting, Herbie Hancock and Miles Davis, this band blended jazz, funk, fusion, rock and more. Their single Another Day is still regularly played on radio.     

Since the 2000s, Branford Marsalis has returned to his first love: classical music. He released a number of classical albums in the ’80s, but his career has really blossomed in the last two decades thanks to a renewed interest and, in particular, his irrepressible work ethic. His collaborations with the Chicago Symphony, New York Philharmonic and Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra bear this out. In 2019, his own label released the album The Secret Between the Shadow and the Soul.  JazzWise and JazzTimes made it their Album of the Year 2019, and with two Grammy nominations, Branford Marsalis proved that he is still among the international jazz elite. In this residency, we present a unique personality in three very different contexts. This event is not to be missed.

Previously

04

Programme complet: 

26/03: Branford Marsalis Solo
27.03: Belgian National Orchestra feat. Branford Marsalis 
28/03: Branford Marsalis Quartet

Existe-t-il un artiste aussi éclectique que Branford Marsalis ? L’aîné de la fratrie Marsalis mondialement connue a commencé sa carrière aux côtés de son frère, le célèbre trompettiste Wynton, avec le grand Art Blakey, avant de construire sa propre carrière. Il a notamment brillé avec Sting, assurant le solo ultra connu sur l’énorme tube Englishman in New York, et prenant la tête du groupe Tonight Show Band de Jay Leno.

Pourtant, il a fallu attendre le début des années 90 pour que Branford commence à suivre sa propre inspiration artistique. Avec son quartet, il a définitivement changé le paysage du jazz en combinant liberté artistique et virtuosité disciplinée. Cet ensemble est aujourd’hui encore considéré comme l’un des meilleurs de jazz acoustique, avec des tournées dans les salles de concert les plus réputées du monde entier. C’est aussi à cette époque qu’il fonde le groupe Buckshot Le Fonque. S’inspirant de collaborations avec Sting, Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis… ce groupe combine jazz, funk, fusion ou encore rock. Leur single Another Day passe d’ailleurs encore souvent sur les ondes.

Dans les années 2000, Branford Marsalis est revenu à son premier amour : la musique classique. Vingt ans plus tôt, il avait déjà lancé quelques albums classiques, mais un intérêt renouvelé et surtout une éthique de travail implacable ont fait exploser sa carrière au cours des deux dernières décennies. En témoignent ses collaborations avec le Chicago Symphony, le New York Philharmonic et le Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra. En 2019, l’album The Secret Between the Shadow and the Soul est sorti sur son propre label. Sacré « Album de l’année 2019 » par JazzWise et Jazztimes et salué par deux nominations aux Grammy Awards, cet opus prouve que Branford Marsalis est encore au sommet du jazz international. Avec cette résidence, nous présentons une personnalité unique dans trois contextes très variés. Un événement à ne pas manquer sous aucun prétexte.

Précédemment