16

Herbie Hancock is a true icon of modern music. Throughout his explorations, he has transcended limitations and genres while maintaining his unmistakable voice. With an illustrious career spanning five decades and 14 Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year for River: The Joni Letters, he continues to amaze audiences across the globe. On November 25th, he will play an exclusive concert at BOZAR in Brussels.

There are few artists in the music industry who have had more influence on acoustic and electronic jazz and R&B than Herbie Hancock. As the immortal Miles Davis said in his autobiography: "Herbie was the step after Bud Powell and Thelonious Monk, and I haven't heard anybody yet who has come after him."

Born in Chicago in 1940, Herbie was a child piano prodigy who performed a Mozart piano concerto with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra at age 11. He began playing jazz in high school, initially influenced by Oscar Peterson and Bill Evans. He also developed a passion for electronics and science, and double-majored in music and electrical engineering at Grinnell College.

Now in the sixth decade of his professional life, Herbie Hancock remains where he has always been: at the forefront of world culture, technology, business and music.  In addition to being recognized as a legendary pianist and composer, Herbie Hancock has been an integral part of every popular music movement since the 1960’s. As a member of the Miles Davis Quintet that pioneered a groundbreaking sound in jazz, he also developed new approaches on his own recordings, followed by his work in the 70s - with record-breaking albums such as "Headhunters" - that combined electric jazz with funk and rock in an innovative style that continues to influence contemporary music. Hancock is currently in the studio at work on a new album.

23

Herbie Hancock est une figure emblématique de la musique moderne. Au fil de sa carrière, il a transcendé toutes sortes de genres musicaux, sans jamais se départir de sa voix inimitable. Après 50 années dans le monde musical (ponctuées de 14 Grammy Awards, parmi lequel celui d’Album de l’année pour River: The Joni Letters), Herbie Hancock continue de ravir ses fans aux quatre coins du monde. Le 25 novembre prochain, il donnera un concert exclusif à BOZAR, à Bruxelles.

Peu d’artistes ont eu une influence aussi grande qu’Herbie Hancock sur le jazz et le R&B acoustiques et électroniques. Comme le dit si bien l’immortel Miles Davis dans son autobiographie : « Herbie a succédé à Bud Powell et Thelonious Monk, mais personne ne lui a encore succédé. »

Herbie est né à Chicago en 1940. Il était un petit prodige du piano : à 11 ans, il a joué un concerto de Mozart avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago. Il s’est lancé dans le jazz pendant ses études secondaires, sous l’influence d’Oscar Peterson et de Bill Evans. Il s’est aussi pris d’une passion pour l’électronique et les sciences, et a suivi une double formation en musique et en ingénierie électronique au Grinnell College.

Aujourd’hui alors qu’il entame la sixième décennie de sa carrière, Herbie Hancock occupe toujours la même place à la pointe de la « world culture », de la technologie, du business et de la musique. Et en plus d’être considéré comme un pianiste et compositeur de légende, il a fait partie intégrante de chaque mouvement musical populaire depuis les années 1960. En tant que membre du Miles Davis Quintet, à l’origine d’un son jazzy totalement inédit à l’époque, Herbie Hancock a aussi adopté de nouvelles approches pour ses propres enregistrements. Dans les années 1970, au cours desquelles il a sorti plusieurs albums record tels que « Headhunters », il a combiné un jazz électronique avec du funk et du rock dans un style innovant, qui continue d’influencer la musique contemporaine. Herbie Hancock travaille actuellement en studio à la réalisation de son nouvel album.