25

In the presence of André Singer


On 13 June, BOZAR CINEMA and the Goethe-Institut Brüssel present “Meeting Gorbachev” by Werner Herzog and André Singer. This documentary focuses on the life and work of Michail Gorbachev, the former leader of the Soviet Union, and sheds light on the end of the USSR.


Following the Berlinale Forum in September and the Duisburger Filmwoche in March, BOZAR CINEMA and the Goethe-Institut Brüssel are joining forces yet again to present a selection from Doc Leipzig. 


Ralph Eue, the man responsible for the Doc Leipzig programme, and André Singer will be in conversation after the screening.


Very few politicians in the second half of the twentieth century played as decisive a role as Mikhail Gorbachev. From 1985 to 1991 he was Secretary General of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. His term of office saw the beginning of nuclear disarmament, glasnost, perestroika, German reunification and the collapse of the Soviet Union. In 1990 he was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. Filmmaker Werner Herzog makes no secret of his admiration for Gorbachev. He and co-director André Singer visited Gorbachev on three occasions in 2017 and 2018. During the conversation, the 88-year-old Gorbachev looks back on his political career and private life. Recordings of the conversation are combined with archive material. “Meeting Gorbachev” does not just focus on the politician’s historical achievements but also gives insight into his thoughts and feelings.


Werner Herzog was born in Munich in 1942. He grew up in a mountain village in Bavaria and studied history and German literature in Munich and Pittsburgh. He produced his first film in 1961, at 19 years of age. Since then he has made, written and produced more than sixty films and documentaries, including “Aguirre, the Wrath of God” (1972), “Fitzcarraldo” (1982) and “Cave of Forgotten Dreams” (2010). Werner Herzog lives in Munich and Los Angeles.
André Singer is a documentary maker and anthropologist. He was born in London and studied in England at University Hall Buckland, and Oxford University. Since the 1970s he has worked for, amongst others, the Discovery Channel, Alliance Atlantis and the BBC. Since 1992 he has regularly collaborated with Werner Herzog and they have made 15 films together, including “The Wild Blue Yonder” (2005). Singer was President of the Royal Anthropological Institute in London and lectured at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles and the University of Westminster in London.

13

En présence d’André Singer
​​​​​​​

Le 13 juin, BOZAR CINEMA et le Goethe Institut Brüssel présentent Meeting Gorbachev de Werner Herzog et André Singer. Ce documentaire s’attache à la vie et à l’œuvre de l’ancien chef d’État soviétique Mikhaïl Gorbatchev et fait le point sur la fin de l’URSS.
Après le Forum de la Berlinale en septembre et le Duisburger Filmwoche en mars, BOZAR CINEMA et le Goethe Institut Brüssel s’associent à nouveau pour proposer une sélection du Doc Leipzig. 
Ralph Eue, en charge de la programmation du Doc Leipzig, ainsi qu’André Singer s’entretiendront à l’issue de la projection.

Peu d’hommes politiques auront eu un rôle aussi déterminant dans la seconde moitié du XXe  siècle que Mikhaïl Gorbatchev, secrétaire général du Comité Central du PCUS (Parti Communiste de l’Union Soviétique) de 1985 à 1991. Son mandat aura été marqué par l’amorce du désarmement nucléaire, la glasnost, la perestroïka, la réunification allemande et la dislocation de l’URSS. Le Prix Nobel de la Paix lui a été décerné en 1990. Le réalisateur Werner Herzog ne cache pas son admiration pour Gorbatchev. Avec son co-réalisateur André Singer, ils lui ont rendu visite à trois reprises en 2017 et 2018. Âgé aujourd’hui de 88 ans, Gorbatchev revient sur sa carrière politique et sa vie privée. Des documents d’archives enrichissent les séquence d’entretien. Meeting Gorbachev ne se contente pas de rappeler les contributions historiques de l’homme politique, mais propose une approche de sa façon de penser et de son vécu.

Werner Herzog est né en 1942 à Munich et a grandi dans un village de montagne en Bavière. Après des études d’histoire et de littérature germanophone à Munich et Pittsburgh, il a produit son premier film en 1961, à l’âge de 19 ans. Il a scénarisé, tourné et produit depuis plus d’une soixantaine de longs métrages et de documentaires, dont Aguirre, la colère de Dieu (1972), Fitzcarraldo (1982) et La Grotte des rêves perdus (2010). Werner Herzog vit entre Munich et Los Angeles.

André Singer est documentariste et anthropologue. Né à Londres, il a fait des études en Angleterre au University Hall de Buckland et à l’Université d’Oxford. À partir des années 1970, il a notamment travaillé pour Discovery Channel, Alliance Atlantis et la BBC. Depuis 1992, il collabore régulièrement avec Werner Herzog et ils ont réalisé 15 films ensemble dont le film de science-fiction The Wild Blue Yonder en 2005. Singer a présidé le Royal Anthropological Institute à Londres et a enseigné à la University of Southern California de Los Angeles et à la University of Westminster de Londres.