17

In the framework of the exhibition “The 12th Time Zone. A contemporary art report from Russia” and Russian Turn programme, BOZAR invites Russian artists to discuss self-identity, genius loci and contemporary art scene beyond the power centers.

Kaliningrad and Vladivostok, Nizhny Novgorod and Omsk, Tyumen and Khabarovsk - these cities located thousands of kilometers apart are scattered over the largest country in the world. Each of this places has its own strong character, untold potential, and unique cultural heritage that nurtures local artistic practices. Working as co-creators with the territory at the intersection of local mythology and industrial legacy, recent past and uncertain futures, the artists from these regions tap into the global reflection on politics; society, ecology,memory and human nature.

18:00 Artists perspective: contemporary art practices beyond the power centers

20:30 Screening of the documentary NEMOSKVA: Art in Regions.

Moderator:
​​​​​​​Elena Sorokina is curator and art historian. She was curator of the HISK (High Institute of Fine Arts, Belgium) in 2017-2018. Between 2015 and 2017 she was curatorial advisor of documenta 14 in Athens/Kassel. She worked as a senior curator at Lille3000 between 2008-2010. She organised numerous exhibitions dealing with Russian, post-Soviet and Central and Eastern European matters: “Contested Spaces in Post-Soviet Art” at CUNY (New York); “Etats de l’Artifice” at Musée d’Art Moderne (Paris), “On Traders’ Dilemmas” at YBCA (San Francisco), “Spaces of Exception” and “Petroliana” at the Moscow Biennale 2013 and 2007 respectively, as well as other projects.

Ongoing and forthcoming

26

Dans le cadre de l’exposition « The 12th Time Zone. A contemporary art report from Russia » et du programme Russian Turn, BOZAR convie des artistes russes à un débat autour de l’identité personnelle, du genius loci et de la scène artistique contemporaine par-delà les épicentres du pouvoir.  

Kaliningrad et Vladivostok, Nizhny Novgorod et Omsk, Tyumen et Khabarovsk – des villes dispersées aux quatre coins du plus grand pays du monde, séparées par des milliers de kilomètres. Chacune d’elle est dotée d’une très forte identité, d’un immense potentiel et d’un patrimoine culturel unique qui nourrit les pratiques artistiques locales. Co-créateurs avec ce territoire situé à la croisée de la mythologie locale et du patrimoine industriel, à l’interface entre le passé récent et un avenir incertain, les artistes de la région puisent leur inspiration dans la réflexion mondiale sur la politique, la société, l’écologie, la mémoire et la nature humaine.  
 

18:00 Artists perspective: contemporary art practices beyond the power centers

20:30 Projection du documentaire NEMOSKVA: Art in Regions.

Moderatrice :
​​​​​​​Elena Sorokina est conservatrice et historienne de l'art. Elle a été conservatrice de l'HISK (Institut Supérieur des Beaux-Arts, Belgique) en 2017-2018. Entre 2015 et 2017, elle a été conseillère en conservation de Documenta 14 à Athènes/Kassel. Elle a travaillé comme conservatrice senior à Lille3000 de 2008 à 2010. Elle a organisé de nombreuses expositions traitant des questions russes et post-soviétiques, d'Europe centrale et orientale : « Contested Spaces in Post-Soviet Art » à CUNY (New York), « Etats de l'Artifice » au Musée d'Art Moderne (Paris), « On Traders' Dilemmas » au YBCA (San Francisco), « Spaces of Exception » et « Petroliana », respectivement à la Biennale de Moscou 2013 et 2007, ainsi que d'autres projets.

En cours et à venir