20

HE4RTBROKEN is a Belgian collective promoting unapologetically emotional club music. It aims at offering forward-thinking and genre-blending performances challenging expectations from the club, and focuses on emotion and reinvention rather than on a certain musical genre. Promoting nights since 2015 in Brussels and wishing to provide a platform to like minded free spirits, they have brought to Brussels artists like Total Freedom, Toxe, Bonaventure, Tzusing, Lotic, Oklou, Inga Copeland or Klein, and work closely with Belgian artists ssaliva, Nevrland and SKY H1.

​​​​​​​

Ana Caprix & Daniel Swan (UK)

Ana Caprix and Daniel Swan present an audio-visual experience following the journey of a lone protagonist drawn into a mysterious landscape. Exploring the hazy borderland between escapism and annihilation, Ana Caprix's music fuses elements of trance, ambient and pop into a melodic sound that is both euphoric and bittersweet. Ana Caprix has been releasing music online since 2011 and most recently released his debut album, 2018's Anchorhold. Although very little is known about his elusive persona, he has also been working with artists Bladee, Laura Clock, Uli K or Brood Ma. Daniel Swan is visual artist and filmmaker whose work uses a mixture of digital collage, 3D animation, 2D visual effects and found footage. He has produced videos and visuals for Jam City, Visionist, Palmistry, Thaiboy Digital, RL Grime, and has had work shown at Tate Britain, ICA and Barbican.

 

Oli XL (SE)

Stockholm’s Oli XL has emerged as one of the most intriguing new artists in underground club music via his work as a producer, DJ, visual artist, and as head of the now defunct W-I label and its successor Bloom. Oli has always been an artist to watch (FACT Magazine named him as such officially at the beginning of 2018). Perhaps it was his track on the PAN label’s 2017 ambient compilation Mono No Aware, or his contribution to Posh Isolation’s I Could Go Anywhere But Again I Go With You compilation, released in January, 2018. But it was his 2018 EP (his third) "Stress Junkie" which featured the crystallization of a sound hinted at previously: unconventional yet funky rhythms and a pop sensibility. That vision was fully realized in the summer of 2019 with his debut album "Rogue Intruder, Soul Enhancer", the most cohesive and expansive statement of his intentions yet. Pitchfork rightly called it, “an almost uncomfortably gorgeous piece of work.” Oli XL will premiere at Bozar an augmented A/V version of his "Rogue Intruder, Soul Enhancer"’s live show.

 

LIYO & STEFF (BE)

Heartbroken collective's founders and resident djs Liyo and Steff have met in their teens and learned their craft together as autodidacts. They run a monthly radio show at The Word Radio and next to regularly playing shows on NTS, Hotel Radio Paris and Berlin Community Radio. Their versatile dj sets could be qualified as « storytelling », and is kindred to the philosophy of their nights : emotions come first, as they are looking for interesting collages, abrupt downfalls and emotional climaxes in their mixes, going from Techno build ups to ambient sensations, R’nB infused club tracks to Baile funk festive explosions. They have a nose for the unknown online gems and also produce irresistible edits that blend the best of all their influences.

Did you know?

  • BRACE YOURSELF FOR NUITS SONORES 2019

    BOZAR turns into the country’s biggest club for a new edition of Nuits Sonores. The biggest names in the electronic music world descend on Brussels to make you move and think. Here’s a small taster of four days of non-stop beats.

    — published on

13

HE4RTBROKEN est un collectif belge faisant la promotion de la musique de club résolument émotionnelle. Il vise à proposer des événements visionnaires au croisement des genres, qui défient les attentes du monde des clubs et se concentre sur l’émotion et la réinvention plutôt que sur un genre musical spécifique. Faisant la promotion de soirées depuis 2015 à Bruxelles et souhaitant proposer une plateforme d’expression à des esprits libres semblables aux leurs, ils ont invité à Bruxelles des artistes tels que Total Freedom, Toxe, Bonaventure, Tzusing, Lotic, Oklou, Inga Copeland ou Klein, et travaillé étroitement avec les artistes belges ssaliva, Nevrland et SKY H1.

Ana Caprix & Daniel Swan (UK)

Ana Caprix et Daniel Swan présentent une expérience audiovisuelle qui suit le voyage d’un protagoniste solitaire attiré dans un paysage mystérieux. Explorant la frontière floue entre l’évasion et l’annihilation, la musique d’Ana Caprix opère une fusion entre la trance, l’ambient et la pop pour donner naissance à un son mélodique à la fois euphorique et doux-amer. Ana Caprix publie de la musique en ligne depuis 2011 et vient de sortir son premier album Anchorhold en 2018. Bien que l’on n’en sache que très peu sur sa personnalité insaisissable, il a également collaboré avec les artistes Bladee, Laura Clock, Uli K ou Brood Ma. Daniel Swan est un artiste visuel et un réalisateur qui utilise un mélange de collages digitaux, d’animations 3D, d’effets visuels 2D et de séquences d’images trouvées. Il a produit des vidéos et des visuels pour Jam City, Visionist, Palmistry, Thaiboy Digital, RL Grime, et a exposé des œuvres à la Tate Britain, à l’ICA et au Barbican.


Oli XL (SE)​​​​​​​

Le Stockholmois Oli XL est l’un des artistes les plus fascinants de la scène club underground, grâce à son travail en tant que producteur, DJ, artiste visuel et directeur de l’ancien label W-I et son successeur Bloom. Oli a toujours été un artiste à surveiller de près (le FACT Magazine lui a décerné officiellement ce titre début 2018). Il doit peut-être cet honneur au titre qu’il a proposé pour la compilation ambient Mono No Aware du label PAN en 2017, ou à sa contribution à la compilation I Could Go Anywhere But Again I Go With You de Posh Isolation, sortie en janvier 2018. Mais c’est son EP (le troisième) Stress Junkie (2018) qui a représenté la cristallisation d’un son qui s’était déjà immiscé dans son travail précédemment : des rythmes non conventionnels mais funky alliés à une sensibilité pop. Cette vision a pris son envol en été 2019 avec la sortie de son premier album Rogue Intruder, Soul Enhancer, qui concrétise ses intentions artistiques avec le plus de cohérence et d’exhaustivité à ce jour. Pitchfork a eu raison de le décrire comme « une œuvre si délicieuse qu’elle en devient presque inconfortable ». À BOZAR, Oli XL proposera la création d’une nouvelle version audiovisuelle augmentée du show live de Rogue Intruder, Soul Enhancer.

LIYO & STEFF (BE)
Les fondateurs du collectif Heartbroken et les DJ en résidence Liyo et Steff se sont rencontrés à l’adolescence et ont appris ensemble leur métier de manière autodidacte. Ils animent une émission de radio mensuelle sur The Word Radio et mixent régulièrement sur NTS, Hotel Radio Paris et Berlin Community Radio. Leurs sets versatiles peuvent être qualifiés de « narratifs » et résonnent avec la philosophie de leurs soirées : les émotions y sont placées au premier plan, comme s’ils cherchaient des collages intéressants, des chutes abruptes et des climax émotionnels dans leurs mix, allant de progressions techno à des sensations ambient en passant par des morceaux de club influencés par le R&B et des explosions festives de baile funk. Ils ont le nez pour dénicher des perles encore inconnues sur la toile et produisent des montages sonores irrésistibles qui allient le meilleur de toutes leurs influences.
 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • ACCROCHEZ-VOUS, NUITS SONORES EST DE RETOUR

    À l’occasion de Nuits Sonores 2019, BOZAR devient à nouveau le plus grand club du pays. Des figures emblématiques de la scène électronique mondiale s’apprêtent à investir notre capitale pour vous faire danser et réfléchir. Petit avant-goût de ces quatre jours de beats non-stop.

    — publié le