23

In the last century and continuing through the present day, Romania’s numerous artists have contributed greatly to the most avant-garde movements of our continent. Today’s it offers a breeding ground of inspiration for artists from other countries. 
It is in this spirit that BOZAR and its partners, the National Museum of Contemporary Art (MNAC) and the Cluj Cultural Centre gathered ten artists from Belgium and Romania in Bucharest and Cluj between May 24th and 29th. Through their journey in Romania and through numerous visits and encounters, the artists explored a variety of questions that are central to their practices. 
The installations shown in this project echo the inspirations drawn by or with artists around that journey.
This project is part of a larger focus on Romania proposed by BOZAR during the Romanian EU Presidency as well as by EUROPALIA ROMANIA during the second semester of 2019.  
​​​​​​​
Participating artists are : Arjan Vanmeenen, Camille De Bonhome, Carla Swerts, Gabriela Mateescu, Lea Rasovszky, Lucian Indrei, Meriton Maloku, Mihai Zgondoiu, Nadia Guerroui, Thea Lazăr

Did you know?

  • A Journey of Artistic Encounters in Romania

    Fragments

    At the crossroads between tradition and modernity, urbanity and rurality, today’s Romania is a breeding ground of inspiration for emerging artists from other places. In May 2019 10 artists (5 from Belgium, 5 from Romania) met up in Bucharest and Cluj to draw, photograph, dream and even tattoo their way through the country.

    — published on

23

Tout au long du siècle dernier et jusqu’à aujourd’hui, de nombreux artistes de Roumanie ont apporté une contribution majeure aux mouvements les plus avant-gardistes de notre continent. Cette contribution est devenue un terreau fertile qui nourrit l’inspiration d’artistes d’autres pays.   
C’est dans cet esprit que BOZAR et ses partenaires, le Musée national d’art contemporain de Bucarest (MNAC) et le Centre culturel de Cluj, ont réuni à Bucarest et à Cluj, du 24 au 29 mai, dix artistes belges et roumains. Pendant leur voyage en Roumanie, ponctué de nombreuses visites et rencontres, ces artistes se sont penchés sur diverses questions au cœur de leur pratique.  
Les installations exposées dans le cadre de ce projet font écho à l’inspiration glanée par les artistes ou avec les artistes au fil de ce voyage. 
Ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre du Focus on Romania proposé par BOZAR à l’occasion de la Présidence roumaine de l’UE et d’EUROPALIA ROMANIA pendant le deuxième semestre 2019.  
 
Avec la participation des artistes suivants :  Arjan Vanmeenen, Camille De Bonhome, Carla Swerts, Gabriela Mateescu, Lea Rasovszky, Lucian Indrei, Meriton Maloku, Mihai Zgondoiu, Nadia Guerroui, Thea Lazăr.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • UN VOYAGE RICHE EN RENCONTRES ARTISTIQUES EN ROUMANIE

    FRAGMENTS

    À la croisée de la tradition et de la modernité, de l’urbanité et la ruralité, la Roumanie d’aujourd’hui est un terreau fertile d’inspiration pour les artistes émergents d’autres pays. En mai 2019, 10 artistes (qui résident, pour moitié, en Belgique, et pour moitié, en Roumanie) se sont rencontrés à Bucarest et à Cluj pour dessiner, photographier, rêver et même tatouer leur parcours dans le pays

    — publié le