11

Cities are often seen as vibrant laboratories in which certainties of the past meet with current and future societal challenges. However, upon closer look, rural areas increasingly appear to be the place where the political, economic and social balances of entire regions are really at stake.

As our planet reaches a breaking point, it is time to critically re-examine the role of the different actors shaping such diverse territories. At a time of climate change and shifting paradigms our man-made environment bears testimony of a growing unease about how soil and natural landscapes have been gnawed away by industry and urban sprawl.

The exhibition Enter the Modern Landscape reflects upon a European heritage made up of 20th century rural settlements, whose implementation was guided by ideologies of various kinds that have crossed and marked this century - whether they be capitalist, communist, or other. The exhibition travels through this European modernist landscape of kibbutzes, soviet collective farms and colonised territories in 12 chapters, bringing together extensive archive material with the work of photographers and filmmakers such as Chris Marker & Alain Resnais, Pier Paolo Pasolini, and Winfried Junge.

Enter the Modern Landscape is an exhibition organised in collaboration with BOZAR and MODSCAPES, an important research programme across several European universities.

26

Les villes sont souvent considérées comme des laboratoires dynamiques dans lesquels les certitudes du passé rencontrent les défis sociétaux du présent et de l’avenir. Cependant, à y regarder de plus près, les zones rurales semblent jouer un rôle de plus en plus décisif dans l’équilibre politique, économique et social de régions entières. 

Alors que notre planète atteint un point de non-retour, il est temps de réexaminer le rôle des différents acteurs qui donnent forme à ces territoires variés. À l’heure du changement climatique et de l’évolution des paradigmes, l’environnement façonné par l’homme atteste d’un malaise croissant quant à la façon dont les sols et les paysages naturels sont rongés par l’industrie et l’urbanisation.

L’exposition Enter the Modern Landscape se penche sur un patrimoine européen composé d’habitats ruraux du XXe siècle, dont la création a été guidée par les différentes idéologies qui ont marqué ce siècle – qu’elles soient capitalistes, communistes ou autres. L’exposition explore ce paysage européen moderne fait de kibboutz, de fermes collectives soviétiques et de territoires colonisés à travers 12 chapitres. Elle réunit une grande quantité de matériel d’archives, ainsi que des œuvres de photographes et de réalisateurs tels que Chris Marker & Alain Resnais, Pier Paolo Pasolini, ou encore Winfried Junge.

Enter the Modern Landscape est une exposition réalisée en collaboration entre BOZAR et MODSCAPES, un important programme de recherche à travers plusieurs universités d'Europe.