11

The Nordics have become something of a global obsession.  Whether as a beacon of progressive and innovative societies, images of breath-taking nature or a bastion of all things design and lifestyle orientated, the reputation of the Nordics precedes them as global advocates and pioneers for social and ecological causes.

The Nordics represent a population of 27 million people stretching from Greenland in the west to Finland in the East, together covering a geographical area equivalent to the seventh largest nation in the world. This vast and diverse region also includes Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Iceland, the Faroe Islands and Åland and offers so much to explore beyond the obvious headlines and clichés.  

BOZAR is delighted to invite you to our Nordic Fall in Brussels - as part of our Renaissance 2.0 season - presenting innovative aspects, thinking and creative output on areas where the Nordics continue to innovate and inspire including topics such as urban sustainability, technology and innovation, the arctic and equalities. Join us to also delve deeper under the surface of Nordic Society through artistic expression including Music, Literature, TV and Film.  

The Nordic region often tops studies as one of the happiest regions in the world, but away from the headlines what does this actually mean?  What is it in Nordic Societies that contributes to these accolades but also how do some people fall through the gaps? How does this image tally with some of the darker and more brutal underbelly of human existence presented through the international export that has become Nordic Noir?

Nordic Fall, grab your coat, it’s going to get chilly.

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

22

Le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que les pays nordiques ont vraiment la cote. Modèle social progressif et innovant exemplaire, paysages d’une beauté à couper le souffre, fleurons du design et du lifestyle, dans les moindres aspects du quotidien… Ces pays se sont forgé une réputation de pionniers et de défenseurs des causes sociales et écologiques. 
 
Les pays nordiques, c’est une population de 27 millions d’habitants sur une superficie équivalente à celle du 7e plus grand pays au monde, qui s’étend du Groenland à l’ouest à la Finlande à l’est. Pourtant, cette région vaste et diversifiée, qui inclut également la Suède, le Danemark, la Norvège, l’Islande, les iles Féroé et l’archipel d’Åland, a bien plus à offrir que ne le laissent supposer les gros titres et les clichés.  

BOZAR vivra à l’heure du Nordic Fall, l’automne nordique, et vous y convie dans le cadre de la saison Renaissance 2.0. Nous vous ferons découvrir les innovations, la réflexion et la production artistique de la région, autour de thèmes qui nous inspirent, qui font bouger les choses et où les choses bougent, comme le développement urbain durable, la technologie et l’innovation, l’Arctique et les égalités. Rejoignez-nous et découvrez la partie immergée de cet iceberg à travers différentes formes d’expression artistique, comme la musique, la littérature, la production télévisée et le cinéma.   

Les études montrent que cette région est particulièrement douée pour le bonheur. Mais au-delà de ces titres, qu’est-ce que cela signifie au juste ? D’où ces sociétés nordiques tirent-elles cette réputation exemplaire ? Et pourquoi certains passent-ils quand même à travers les mailles du filet ? Quel est le lien entre cette image et les aspects parfois plus sombres et mêmes brutaux de l’existence humaine décrits dans les polars venus du Nord ?     

Nordic Fall, couvrez-vous bien, un vent frais va souffler sur nos contrées ! 

En cours et à venir

Précédemment