09

In 1973, five men and six women drifted across the Atlantic on a raft as part of a scientific experiment studying the sociology of violence, aggression and sexual attraction in human behaviour. Although the project became known in the press as ‘The Sex Raft’, nobody could expect what ultimately took place on that three month journey. Through extraordinary archive material and a reunion of the surviving members of the expedition on a full scale replica of the raft, this film tells the hidden story behind what has been described as ’one of the strangest group experiments of all time.’

 

Marcus Lindeen

Marcus Lindeen is an artist, writer and director. He studied directing at Dramatiska Institutet in Stockholm and made his debut with Regretters, both a theater play and a documentary film about two Swedish men who change their sex twice. It won the prestigious Prix Europa for best European documentary in Berlin in 2010. 

In 2011 his second film Accidentes Gloriosos premiered at The Venice Film Festival and won the prize for best medium-length film in the Orizzonti section. It’s an experimental fiction in black-and-white that deals with car crashes, sexual adventures and bottomless holes. 

His latest film, The Raft, premiered at CPH:DOX film festival in Copenhagen where it picked up the main award.

20

En 1973, cinq hommes et six femmes ont traversé l’Atlantique sur un radeau dans le cadre d’une expérience sociologique visant à étudier l’émergence de la violence et de l’attraction sexuelle dans les comportements humains. Bien que le projet ait rapidement été rebaptisé « The Sex Raft » (le radeau du sexe) par les médias, personne ne pouvait s’attendre à ce qui s’est réellement passé lors de ce voyage de trois mois. Pour ce film, le cinéaste a réuni les membres survivants de l’expédition sur une reproduction grandeur nature du radeau. À l’aide d’images d’archives exceptionnelles, il raconte l’histoire cachée de ce qui est décrit comme « l’une des plus étranges expériences collectives de tous les temps. »

Marcus Lindeen, est un artiste, écrivain et réalisateur. Il étudie la réalisation à la Dramatiska Institutet de Stockholm et fait ses débuts avec Regretters, à la fois une pièce de théâtre et un film documentaire sur deux Suédois qui ont changé de sexe deux fois. Il a remporté le prestigieux Prix Europa du meilleur documentaire européen à Berlin en 2010.


En 2011, son deuxième film, Accidentes Gloriosos, a été présenté à la Mostra Cinema de Venise et a remporté le prix du meilleur moyen métrage de la section Orizzonti. C’est une fiction expérimentale en noir et blanc qui traite d'accidents de voiture, d'aventures sexuelles et des trous sans fond.


Son dernier film, The Raft, a été présenté au festival CPH: DOX à Copenhague, où il a remporté le prix principal.