22

Finland’s EU Presidency runs from 1 July to 31 December 2019 under the heading of ‘Sustainable Europe – Sustainable Future’.

 

Led by their acclaimed Chief Conductor Susanne Mälkki, the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra will be in residence at BOZAR.  For the gala opening the orchestra will be joined by dancers from the Tero Saarinen Dance company and soloist Oren Shevlin for a performance of Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s Cello concerto in the form of a “pas de trois”, a stunning work of live music, dance and visual design.

 

The Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra’s residency continues with an event that illustrates their unique experience of engaging children and young people. In the evening, renowned opera singer Matti Salminen returns to the stage in a special performance of Finnish Tango. This exceptional concert will also mark the opening of a 10-day long Nordic festival at BOZAR.

The Aalto University will be the special guest of BOZAR LAB for a seminar devoted to Urban Sustainability.

The commitment to sustainability runs deeply through all aspects of the Presidency. Instead of offering Presidency gifts Finland has directed these funds to offset emissions from the air travel of artists and delegates during the presidency by funding projects that reduce greenhouse gas emissions and simultaneously advance sustainable development goals.

Did you know?

  • CALL FOR PARTICIPANTS: Sustainable Transformations

    On Thursday 17 October BOZAR is organising a Sustainable Transformations Seminar Day, in partnership with Aalto University. The theme is ‘Sustainable Transformations: Exploring the Arts and Creativity in Stimulating Innovations and Technologies with a Human Touch’.

    read more
    — published on

Previously

22

La Finlande assure la présidence de l’Union européenne du 1er juillet au 31 décembre 2019. Son slogan et son programme ? « Europe durable – Avenir durable ». 

 

À cette occasion, le Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, dirigé par la célèbre cheffe d’orchestre finlandaise Susanna Mälkki, sera en résidence à BOZAR. Lors du gala d’ouverture, il sera rejoint par des danseurs de la compagnie Tero Saarinen et le soliste Oren Shevlin. Un spectacle sensationnel mêlant sur scène musique, danse et éléments visuels autour du Concerto pour violoncelle en forme de pas de trois de Bernd Alois Zimmermann.

 

La série de concerts proposée par le Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra dans le cadre de cette résidence se poursuivra avec un événement remarquable illustrant son expérience dans les projets destinés aux enfants et aux jeunes. Durant la soirée, le célèbre chanteur d’opéra Matti Salminen fera son retour sur scène pour interpréter des tangos finlandais inédits. Ce concert exceptionnel clôturera la journée en beauté et inaugurera également 10 jours de Nordic Festival à BOZAR.
 

L’Université Aalto sera l’invitée d’honneur du BOZAR LAB à l’occasion d’un séminaire sur la durabilité urbaine.

Le souci du développement durable émaille tous les aspects de la présidence finlandaise. La Finlande a d’ailleurs décidé de renoncer aux traditionnels cadeaux de la Présidence et a choisi d’affecter plutôt cette enveloppe à la compensation carbone des voyages en avion des artistes et des délégués pendant la présidence. À cette fin, elle financera des projets visant à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre tout en soutenant les objectifs de développement durable.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • APPEL À PARTICIPATION : Transformations durables

    Le jeudi 17 octobre, BOZAR organisera une journée de séminaire consacrée aux transformations durables, en partenariat avec l’université d’Aalto. Le thème du séminaire sera « Sustainable Transformations: Exploring the Arts and Creativity in Stimulating Innovations and Technologies with a Human Touch »

    lire la suite
    — publié le

Précédemment