21

A few days before the October International Rebellion, planned by the Extinction Rebellion movement, the European Lab Brussels brings together young climate activists for its first day.
While they address the question of potential ‘political collaborations’, philosopher Bernard Stiegler will set forth his vision of the ecological and digital transformations that are underway.
Europe will be at the heart of the debate, since the challenges that will be discussed need to be considered in a European scope. Newly-elected young Members of the European Parliament will take part in the debate.

Workshop - BOZAR Lab

16:00 - 18:00 How to build your own propaganda machine?​​​​​​​

Registration mandatory

Radio Lab - Rotunda Bertouille

17:30 – 18:15 Space as leverage for societal transformation. World Transformation Center, powered by Architecture Workroom - Joachim Declerck
In 2018, the World Trade Center in Brussels’ North District, was temporarily occupied by many creative entrepreneurs, design practices, urban initiatives and an architecture school. The WTC-I 23rd floor was transformed into a public knowledge platform and incubator for the collaborative design of strategic transformation projects and investment programmes to better respond to global challenges. For this occasion, the WTC was renamed “World Transformation Center” and established as the central venue of You Are Here, Brussels’ architecture and transition biennial ‘in the making’.

Joachim Declerck (1979) is an engineer-architect and founding partner of Architecture Workroom Brussels (AWB) - a European think-and-do tank for innovation in the field of architecture and urban and regional development.

18:30 - 19:30 Europe: a new era, a new order?

The European elections in May were marked by a significant turnover in MEPs; almost two-thirds were newcomers. Many young activists are among the new arrivals, some of whom are new to politics. Taking their seats at a time of widespread mistrust of all politicians, they represent hope for change in political practices. Will they be able to reconnect citizens who are increasingly disillusioned with Europe? In the framework of European Lab Brussels, newly-elected MEPs, either young or out of the ordinary, are invited to discuss the upcoming European challenges, and to share the vision of their role as supranational representatives.

19:45 - 20:45 Bernard Stiegler: Witness of his time

Bernard Stiegler is one of the sparingly few philosophers to develop transversal thinking on a multitude of topics, while experimenting with the concepts he has developed, and in particular through the Plaine Commune ‘contributory territory’ in Seine Saint-Denis. Involved in collective projects such as the Ars Industrialis association, the former Deputy Director of the INA and former Director of IRCAM is a key thinker in understanding the fundamental changes brought about by digital technologies. Alongside engineers, artists, farmers and citizens, he is preparing a Memorandum of Understanding, which he will submit to the UN on 10 January 2020, 100 years after the creation of its ‘ancestor’, the League of Nations. In the document, the collective denounces the ongoing “economic war”, while working to find solutions.

21:00 - 22:30 Climate: Rebellion in 2020? 

Humanity is living on credit since 29 July 2019 and all the biodiversity indicators have been flashing red for years. As a result, new forms of mobilisation have emerged in recent months. In the wake of the student climate strikes, collectives have formed in Europe and around the world to personally denounce the inaction of governments. This activism without borders, which ignores traditional ideological dictates, distinctively includes very young people in its ranks. They all agree on the situation’s urgency and on the need to act now in order to save future generations – their own. As major “rebellion” actions are planned for October in Paris, London, Berlin and New York, European Lab Brussels invites the movement activists to discuss how their different organisations can potentially converge.

Did you know?

  • The European Lab Brussels, as if you were there, #ELBXL2019

    Follow ten fascinating round tables that gives the floor to new generations of activists, demonstrators and project leaders, as well as cultural, media and democratic actors. If you can’t get to BOZAR, don’t miss the chance to make the most of their presence amongst us. Nothing could be easier: choose the event(s) below which interest you and return to this page at the time and date indicated on the player.

    — published on

Previously

10

Quelques jours avant la Rebellion Internationale d’Octobre prévue par le collectif Extinction Rebellion, la première journée d’European Lab Brussels met en dialogue de jeunes activistes climatiques.  
Alors que ces derniers aborderont de potentielles « complicités politiques », le philosophe Bernard Stiegler présentera lors de cette même soirée sa vision des mutations écologiques et numériques à l’œuvre. 
Le prisme européen sera au cœur des débats puisque c’est à cette échelle que les enjeux discutés pourront se résoudre. Ce pourquoi de jeunes députés nouvellement arrivés au Parlement européen viendront débattre pendant le forum.

Workshop - BOZAR Lab

16:00 - 18:00 Comment construire sa propre machine de propagande? ​​​​​​​

Inscriptions obligatoires

Radio Lab - Rotonde Bertouille​​​​​​​

17:30 – 18:15 Space as leverage for societal transformation. World Transformation Center, powered by Architecture Workroom - Joachim Declerck
En 2018, de nombreux entrepreneurs, agences de design, initiatives urbaines et une école d’architecture ont temporairement investi le World Trade Center dans le quartier Nord de Bruxelles. Pour mieux répondre aux défis mondiaux, le 23e étage du WTC-I est devenu un lieu d’échange de connaissances autour de la conception de projets de transformation stratégique et de programmes d’investissement. Rebaptisé « World Transformation Center », il est le foyer de You Are Here, la biennale bruxelloise d’architecture et des transitions en préparation.
Joachim Declerck (1979) est ingénieur-architecte, fondateur et partenaire de Architecture Workroom Brussels (AWB) do-and-think-tank européenne pour l’innovation dans le domaine de l’architecture, du développement urbain et territorial.

18:30 - 19:30 Europe : nouvelle ère, nouvelle donne ?

Les élections européennes de mai dernier ont été marquées par un fort renouvellement des eurodéputés, avec près de deux tiers de nouvelles têtes. Parmi ces nouveaux entrants, un certain nombre de jeunes acteurs, parfois novices en politique. Arrivant dans un contexte de méfiance généralisée des représentants politiques de tous bords, ils portent en eux l’espoir d’un changement des pratiques. Sont-ils en mesure de reconnecter des citoyens désabusés avec la question européenne ?

Dans le cadre d’European Lab Brussels, de nouveaux élus, jeunes ou atypiques, sont conviés pour évoquer ces défis européens à venir et partagent leur vision de leur rôle de représentants supranationaux.

19:45 - 20:45 Le grand témoin : Bernard Stiegler

Bernard Stiegler est l’un des (trop) rares philosophes à développer une pensée transversale sur une multitude de sujets, tout en expérimentant les concepts qu’il manie, notamment à travers le territoire contributif Plaine Commune en Seine Saint-Denis. Engagé dans des projets collectifs à l’instar de son association Ars Industrialis, l’ancien directeur adjoint de l’INA et ancien directeur de l’IRCAM est un penseur clé pour comprendre les mutations de l’époque portées par les technologies numériques. Aux côtés d’ingénieurs, artistes, agriculteurs ou citoyens, il s’apprête à remettre un Mémorandum of Understanding à l’ONU le 10 janvier 2020, soit 100 ans après la création de son ancêtre, la Société des Nations. Dans ce texte, le collectif dénonce la « guerre économique » qu’ils estiment en cours, tout en s’employant à y apporter des solutions. 

21:00 - 22:30 Climat : Soulèvement en 2020?

Alors que l’humanité vit à crédit depuis le 29 juillet 2019 et que tous les voyants de la biodiversité sont au rouge depuis de nombreuses années, de nouvelles formes de mobilisation ont vu le jour ces derniers mois. Dans la foulée des jeunes lycéens en grève pour le climat, des collectifs se sont formés en Europe et dans le monde pour dénoncer chacun à leur manière l’inaction des gouvernements. Cet activisme sans frontière qui dépasse les carcans idéologiques traditionnels a pour particularité de compter dans ses rangs une frange très jeune de la population. Tous se retrouvent sur l’urgence de la situation et la nécessité d’agir en vue de préserver les générations futures - la leur. Alors que des actions de « rébellion » d’envergure se préparent pour octobre à Paris, Londres, Berlin ou New York, European Lab Brussels donnent rendez-vous à acteurs de ces mouvements pour discuter des potentielles convergences entre ces différentes organisations.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • European Lab Brussels, comme si vous y étiez, #ELBXL2019

    Regardez sur vos écrans dix tables rondes passionnantes qui donnent la parole à cette nouvelle génération d’activistes, de porteurs de causes et de projets, d’acteurs culturels, médiatiques, démocratiques. Si vous ne pouvez vous rendre à BOZAR, ne manquez pas la chance de profiter, vous aussi, de leur présence parmi nous. Pour ce faire, rien de plus simple : choisissez ci-dessous le(s) événement(s) qui vous intéresse(nt) et soyez au rendez-vous sur cette page à la date et à l’heure indiquée dans le player.

    — publié le

Précédemment