20

Day two of European Lab Brussels will focus on activism and the role of artists in building cultural or political alternatives.
How does culture, from Tbilisi to Palestine, still rhyme with resistance?
Discussion on such topics will be prompted by the screening of a Boiler Room documentary about the Palestinian music scene.
Special guest and philosopher Souleyman Bachir Diagne, invited by Africa Desk, will provide food for thought on the question of African art, stripped of any Eurocentric perspective, and in keeping with closing of the IncarNations exhibition at BOZAR.

Worldcafé - BOZAR Lab

16:00 - 18:15 : Transitional Urban Planning: Common Ground For Brussels

European Lab Brussels invites social innovation actors and temporary occupation activists to jointly develop their ideas, practices, tools and methods, and collectively reflect at BOZAR on 4 October.

Screening - Archival Room

17:00 - 18:15 : Palestine Underground (Boiler Room) & Q&A in the presence of the director

Meant to take the pulse of an exciting underground music scene (and also organise a great party), the Boiler team returned from Palestine with a strong and gripping documentary.
Screened at BOZAR as a preview to the Jazar Crew collective’s performance for Nuits Sonores Brussels (also at BOZAR) later the same evening, “Palestine Underground” depicts the daily life of combative artists who see music as an explicit act of resistance.
This form of cultural activism expresses itself through temporary spaces of freedom (dance floors), seen as a way to promote identity while working to (re)connect fragmented communities.
Featured in the mini-film, members of the Jazar Crew will speak to the audience after the screening, alongside director Jessica Kelly and producer Anaïs Brémond.
The Palestinian collective is particularly active in this region of the Middle East, through the organisation of evening events and by building bridges between Ramallah and Haifa, far from roadblocks and walls.

18:30 - 20:15 : Retransmission Panel Radio Lab: African Art As Philosophy

Radio Lab - Rotunda Bertouille

17:00 - 18:15 : Orlando Figes and the beginning of European culture

The British historian Orlando Figes (°1959) is known above all for his award-winning works on Russian history (A People's Tragedy: The Russian Revolution 1891–1924 (1997) and The Whisperers: Private Life in Stalin’s Russia (2008)). In his latest ground-breaking work he expands the horizon to look at the European continent as a whole.  The Europeans - Three Lives and the Making of a Cosmopolitan Culture is already considered a standard reference work. Through the lives of three individuals (the singer   Pauline Viardot, her husband Louis and the writer Ivan Turgenev), the author traces how European cosmopolitan culture took shape from the second half of the 19th century.  
It is very appropriate that Figes is coming to Brussels to present his book - a work in which he postulates that 'European culture' began on 14 June 1846. It was on that day that a train first travelled from Paris to Brussels and a new era began on the European continent. Information and culture could now be exchanged more easily and people could discover their own 'Europeanness' in the values contained in books, newspapers, operas and works of art.  
By 1900 all educated Europeans were reading the same novels, going to see the same operas and admiring the same paintings. The European 'canon', which forms the basis of what we today refer to as 'high' culture, took shape – and not only in Europe but wherever in the world Europeans settled.
The timing of Orlando Figes's visit is also very appropriate, at a moment when Europe is searching hard for its own cultural identity and engaged in discussions on the value of this canon.

18:30 - 20:15 : African Art As Philosophy

African Art as Philosophy was a groundbreaking publication by philosopher Souleymane Bachir Diagne. In it, he critically engages with the ideas outlined by the Senegalese politician and cultural theorist Léopold Sedar Senghor who looks at African art as an emotional and spiritual force. 

20:30 - 22:00 : Dance of Urgency

From Club Bassiani in Tbilisi to the Jazar Crew collective in Palestine, the Cxema raves in Kyiv, and the marches of Reclaim Club Culture against the AfD, in Berlin, the news shows us that dance floors can become spaces of resistance.
How does club culture reflect the socio-political context of a territory and help us understand collective and individual struggles?
After his Dance of Urgency exhibition at Q21 in Vienna, artist-researcher Bogomir Doringer continues his work at European Lab Brussels, exploring the role of the dance floor as a space for socio-political expression. Through this work, he intends to define “Dance of Urgency”, born of emotions that emerge at times of personal and collective crisis. Such a dance empowers individuals and groups.

With: Naja Orashvili (Bassiani, GE), Jazar Crew (PS), Kélina Gotman (King’s College, UK), moderator: Bogomir Doringer (artist, RS)

Did you know?

  • The European Lab Brussels, as if you were there, #ELBXL2019

    Follow ten fascinating round tables that gives the floor to new generations of activists, demonstrators and project leaders, as well as cultural, media and democratic actors. If you can’t get to BOZAR, don’t miss the chance to make the most of their presence amongst us. Nothing could be easier: choose the event(s) below which interest you and return to this page at the time and date indicated on the player.

    — published on

Previously

22

Cette deuxième journée d’European Lab Brussels s’abordera sous l’angle de l’activisme et du rôle des artistes dans la construction d’alternatives, culturelles ou politiques.
En quoi la club culture rime encore avec résistance, de Tbilissi à la Palestine ?
Autant de questions abordées à travers notamment la projection d’un documentaire de Boiler Room sur la scène de Palestine. 
La présence exceptionnelle du philosophe Souleyman Bachir Diagne invitée par Africa Desk offrira également matière à réfléchir sur la question de l’art africain, débarrassé de tout prisme européocentriste, en écho à l’exposition IncarNations qui se termine à Bozar.

Worldcafé - BOZAR Lab

16:00 - 18:15 : Urbanisme transitoire : quels communs pour Bruxelles?

European Lab Brussels invite les acteurs de l'innovation sociale à articuler leurs idées, pratiques, outils et méthodes à ceux des acteurs de l'occupation temporaire lors d'un temps d'intelligence collective le 4 octobre à Bozar. 

Projection - Salle des archives

17:00 - 18:15 : Palestine Underground & Q&A en présence de la réalisatrice

Venu prendre le pouls d’une scène musicale underground passionnante (et organiser par la même une jolie fête), l’équipe de Boiler est repartie de Palestine avec un documentaire fort et saisissant. Projeté à Bozar en avant-goût de la performance du collectif Jazar Crew le soir même à Bozar pour Nuits sonores Brussels, « Palestine Underground » dépeint le quotidien d’artistes en lutte qui envisagent explicitement la musique comme un acte de résistance. 
Cette forme d’activisme culturel s’exprime à travers des espaces  de liberté temporaire (dancefloors), moyen de promouvoir leur identité tout en oeuvrant à la (re)connexion de communautés éclatées. Présent dans le mini-film, une partie du Jazar Crew témoignera lors d’un temps à l’issue de la projection aux côtés de Jessica Kelly et Anaïs Brémond, respectivement réalisatrice et productrice de l’oeuvre. 
Le collectif palestinien est particulièrement actif dans cette région du Proche-Orient, à travers l’organisation de soirées et la construction de ponts entre Ramallah et Haïfa, loin des barrages et des murs.

18:30 - 20:15 : Retransmission Panel Radio Lab : L'art africain comme philosophie

Radio Lab - Rotonde Bertouille

17:00 - 18:15 : La naissance de la culture européenne avec Orlando Figes

Orlando Figes et la naissance de la culture européenne
L’historien britannique Orlando Figes (°1959) est surtout connu pour ses ouvrages primés sur l’histoire russe (A People's Tragedy: The Russian Revolution 1891–1924 paru en 1997 et The Whisperers: Private Life in Stalin’s Russia sorti en 2008). Avec son nouveau livre révolutionnaire, il élargit ses horizons à tout le continent européen. The Europeans - Three Lives and the Making of a Cosmopolitan Culture est déjà considéré comme une référence. À travers la vie de trois personnages (la chanteuse Pauline Viardot et son mari Louis, ainsi que l’écrivain Ivan Tourgueniev), il décrit comment la culture cosmopolite européenne a pris forme à partir de la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle.
La venue de Figes à Bruxelles pour présenter son livre est des plus pertinentes. Dans son ouvrage, il avance l’hypothèse selon laquelle la « culture européenne » serait née le 14 juin 1846. Ce jour-là, un train a pour la première fois relié Paris à Bruxelles, et le vieux continent est entré dans une nouvelle ère. Les informations et l’art pouvaient circuler plus facilement et les citoyens pouvaient dès lors découvrir leur propre européanité dans les valeurs prônées par les livres, les journaux, les opéras et les œuvres d’art.
À partir de 1900, tous les Européens instruits lisaient les mêmes romans, allaient voir les mêmes opéras et admiraient les mêmes tableaux. C’est ainsi que le « canon » européen, à la base de ce que l’on appelle aujourd’hui la culture « noble », a vu le jour, non seulement en Europe, mais partout dans le monde où des Européens s’étaient installés.
Le moment de la venue d’Orlando Figes est aussi opportun. L’Europe cherche aujourd’hui avec acharnement son identité culturelle et mène des discussions sur la valeur du canon. 

18:30 - 20:15 : L'art africain comme philosophie

Dans son ouvrage révolutionnaire Léopold Sédar Senghor : l'art africain comme philosophie, le philosophe Souleymane Bachir Diagne entre en dialogue avec les idées du politicien et théoricien de la culture sénégalais Léopold Sedar Senghor, qui voit dans l’art africain une force émotionnelle et spirituelle.

20:30 - 22:00 : Dance of Urgency

De Tbilissi avec le club Bassiani à la Palestine avec le collectif Jazar Crew en passant par Kiev et les rave Cxema, mais aussi Berlin avec Reclaim Club Culture défilant contre l’AfD, l’actualité nous montre que certains dancefloors peuvent se transformer en espace de de résistance.
En quoi la club culture reflète-t-elle ainsi le contexte socio-politique d’un territoire et permet-elle de comprendre certaines luttes collectives et individuelles ?
Suite à son exposition ‘Dance of urgency’ à Vienne au Q21, l’artiste-chercheur Bogomir Doringer poursuit à European Lab Brussels son travail d’exploration du rôle du dancefloor comme espace d’expression socio-politique. À travers ce travail, il entend définir la notion de ‘Dance of urgency’ (dance de l’urgence) qui provient d’émotions se produisant en période de crise personnelle et collective. Pareille danse redonne du pouvoir aux individus et aux collectifs.

Avec : Naja Orashvili (Bassiani, GE), Jazar Crew (PS), Kélina Gotman (King’s College, UK), modération Bogomir Doringer (artiste, RS)

Le saviez-vous ?

  • European Lab Brussels, comme si vous y étiez, #ELBXL2019

    Regardez sur vos écrans dix tables rondes passionnantes qui donnent la parole à cette nouvelle génération d’activistes, de porteurs de causes et de projets, d’acteurs culturels, médiatiques, démocratiques. Si vous ne pouvez vous rendre à BOZAR, ne manquez pas la chance de profiter, vous aussi, de leur présence parmi nous. Pour ce faire, rien de plus simple : choisissez ci-dessous le(s) événement(s) qui vous intéresse(nt) et soyez au rendez-vous sur cette page à la date et à l’heure indiquée dans le player.

    — publié le

Précédemment