01

HEROES AND HEROINES. For its fourth edition, the AFROPOLITAN FESTIVAL invites artists and the public to celebrate their heroines and heroes. Musicians as Fela Kuti and Miriam Makeba have marked and continue to inspire generations of artists and activists of all ages and backgrounds. Just like the author Toni Morrison, who died in 2019, who transformed American fiction. Afropolitan pays tribute to these artists and many others through concerts, films, encounters, performances and fashion shows. 


On the programme is the exclusive concert of the legendary Congolese group Zaiko Langa Langa, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary. Their soukous, dances and famous guitar solos have revolutionized African pop music and have travelled the world. The younger generation also celebrates its heroines and heroes during slam & rap nights hosted with Prezy, Joy Slam and Inua Ellams.
Film, fashion and dance will also be at the heart of the festival. In terms of films, there is a programme of musical documentaries "Screen The Beat" and a screening of short films by young Afro-descendant directors based in the Netherlands in partnership with the Africa In the Picture festival in Amsterdam. 
On the fashion side, New African Wave will once again organise a pop-up market and two catwalks celebrating Afropolitan personalities. 
In dance, Bintou Dembele, a French hip-hop figure and choreographer, and the New York dancer Cal Hunt will bring an excerpt from the recent krump ballet “Les Indes Galantes". They will also talk about the artistic and human adventure behind this creation for the Opéra Bastille in Paris. 


Finally, let us not forget the debates, the Meet & Greets with the artists, the workshops and a new networking platform for Afropolitan festivals, and partnership events outside of BOZAR.
It will be three days full of intensity, in which art, celebration and reflection will be combined, in the image of the new Afropolitan art scene.

With : Zaiko Langa Langa, Inua Ellams, Prezy, Joy Slam, Bintou Dembélé, Cal Hunt, Norman Ajari, Sukina Douglas, Mireille Tsheusi-Robert, N’Gone Fall, Pascale Obolo, Edgar Sekloka, Bouba Dola, Miss Elli, Na Baka, Ysel, Wayi, Amee,  Julien Essome, Randi Guine, Elisabetta Agyeiwaa, Robin Ramos, Shamira Rafaela... and many more.
 

The 2020 edition of the Afropolitan Festival is dedicated to Binta Sagna, an important figure of the African diaspora in Belgium and France, who passed away suddenly in August 2019. Binta was fully committed to promoting the festival. The whole team pays a deep tribute to her. 

​​​​​​​#AFROPOLITANFESTIVAL​​​​​​​

Did you know?

  • How to make the most of it in 2020

    THE BOZAR GIFT CARD

    Concert, film, exhibition, theatre – everything is possible with the BOZAR GIFT CARD. This selection of events is merely the festive tip of the immense gift iceberg.

    — published on
  • Edition 2 descends on the Horta Hall

    NEW AFRICAN WAVE POP-UP

    February has come round again, so BOZAR is preparing for three days of art, creativity and the Afropolitan spirit. The theme of this year's Afropolitan Festival is Heroes and Heroines. A three-day event filled with art, dance, music and cinema, and you can go home with your own little souvenir of African identity. The NAW Pop-Up promises a range of design and fashion collectives from the African continent or diaspora, bringing anything from socks with African prints to exciting herbs and spices. Here is a glimpse of what's on offer.

    — published on
  • A Legend Turns 50!

    Zaïko Langa Langa are more than a band, they’re a Congolese cultural legend. Charismatic frontman Jossart Nyoka Longo brings the whole gang to the Centre for Fine Arts on Feburary 29 for an epic birthday celebration. Here are some of the things that make them exceptional:

    — published on
  • FREEDOM THROUGH ART

    Between 28 February and 1 March, Afropolitan Festival 2020 invites artists to pay homage to their heroes and heroines. With only an instrument, a voice, or a pen, these heroes armed themselves against power, oppression or other ills of their time. Who were these artistic activists from the previous century? 

    — published on

Previously

26

HEROES AND HEROINES. Pour sa quatrième édition, l’AFROPOLITAN FESTIVAL invite des artistes et le public à célébrer leurs héroïnes et héros. Les musiciens Fela Kuti et Miriam Makeba ont marqué et continuent d’inspirer des générations d’artistes et d’activistes de tous âges et de tous horizons. Tout comme l’auteure Toni Morrison, disparue en 2019, qui a révolutionné le roman américain. Afropolitan rend hommage à ces artistes et à bien d'autres à travers des concerts, des films, des rencontres, des performances et des défilés de mode. 


Au programme, le concert exclusif du groupe légendaire congolais Zaiko Langa Langa Langa, qui fête ses 50 ans. Son soukous, ses danses et ses célèbres solos de guitares ont révolutionné la musique pop africaine et ont voyagé à travers le monde. La jeune génération célèbre aussi ses heroines et héros lors des soirées slam & rap proposées par Prezy, Joy Slam et Inua Ellams.
Le cinéma, la mode et la danse seront également au cœur du festival. Côté films, à noter un programme de documentaires musicaux « Screen The Beat » et une projection de courts métrages de jeunes réalisateurs Afro-descendants installés aux Pays-Bas en partenariat avec le festival Africa In the Picture à Amsterdam. 


Côté mode, le pop-up sera à nouveau assuré par New African Wave et deux défilés célèbreront de grandes figures afropolitaines. 
En danse, Bintou Dembele, figure du hip-hop en France et chorégraphe du récent ballet krump « Les Indes Galantes » sur la musique de Rameau, ainsi que le danseur New Yorkais, Cal Hunt, proposeront une performance issue de ce ballet et reviendront sur l’aventure artistique et humaine de cette création pour l’Opera Bastille à Paris. 


Enfin, n’oublions pas les débats, les Meet & Greet avec les artistes, les workshops et la nouvelle plateforme de networking des festivals afropolitains et les événements partenaires hors les murs...
Trois jours pleins d’intensité donc, qui allient arts, fête et réflexion, à l’image des nouvelles scènes Afropolitaines.


Avec : Zaiko Langa Langa, Inua Ellams, Prezy, Joy Slam, Bintou Dembélé, Cal Hunt, Norman Ajari, Sukina Douglas, Mireille Tsheusi-Robert, N’Gone Fall, Pascale Obolo, Edgar Sekloka, Bouba Dola, Miss Elli, Na Baka, Ysel, Wayi, Amee,  Julien Essome, Randi Guine, Elisabetta Agyeiwaa, Robin Ramos, Shamira Rafaela... and many more.
​​​​​​​

L’édition 2020 de l’Afropolitan Festival est dédiée à Binta Sagna, communicante et figure de la diaspora africaine en Belgique et en France, décédée brutalement en août 2019. Binta s’investissait pleinement dans le rayonnement du festival. Toute l’équipe lui rend un profond hommage. 

​​​​​​​#AFROPOLITANFESTIVAL

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Et comment en tirer le meilleur parti

    BOZAR GIFT CARD

    Concert, film, expo, théâtre – avec La GIFT CARD, les possibilités sont infinies. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection d’événements – mais ce n’est que le sommet de la gigantesque montagne de cadeaux disponibles.

    — publié le
  • La 2e édition prend ses quartiers dans le Hall Horta

    NEW AFRICAN WAVE POP-UP

    Fidèle à la tradition, BOZAR se prépare à nouveau à trois jours d’art, de créativité et de réflexions afropolitaines durant le mois de février. Cette année, l’Afropolitan Festival est placé sous le signe des Heroes and Heroines. Trois journées d’art, de danse, de musique et de film lors desquelles vous pourrez également emporter une petite part d’identité africaine. Le NAW Pop-Up, qui en est à sa deuxième édition, accueille également au Palais des Beaux-Arts différents collectifs actifs dans le design et la mode, issus du continent africain ou de la diaspora, allant des chaussettes aux imprimés africains et aux épices relevées. Voici un petit aperçu de l’offre.

    — publié le
  • Une légende fête ses 50 ans !

    Zaïko Langa Langa est plus qu'un groupe, c'est une légende de la culture congolaise. Ce 29 février, le leader charismatique Jossart Nyoka Longo emmène la troupe au Palais des Beaux-Arts pour une fête d'anniversaire qui s’annonce épique. Voici quelques traits qui rendent le groupe exceptionnel.

    — publié le
  • S’AFFRANCHIR À TRAVERS L’ART

    Du 28 février au 1er mars, l’édition 2020 de l’Afropolitan Festival invite des artistes et le public à venir rendre hommage à leurs héros et héroïnes. Armés d’un saxophone, de leur voix ou d’un stylo, ces héros sont partis en guerre contre le pouvoir, l’oppression ou d’autres maux de leur époque. Quelles sont donc ces âmes artistiques et activistes qui ont marqué le siècle dernier ?  

    — publié le

Précédemment