16

New York in the late 1970s was a depressed city, on the brink of bankruptcy and almost wholly overrun by criminal gangs. In the south of the city, and particularly south of 14th Street and east of Greenwich Village, the East Village neighbourhood attracted many artists looking for cheap housing. 

It was in this cultural renewal that the city’s communities met, and that hip-hop, the art world and the world of rock and punk would intersect. This exceptional environment gave birth to Keith Haring’s unique artistic approach.

Three contemporaries of that time will be talking to us about their experience and relationships with Keith Haring: they are Leonard Abrams (editor of The East Village Eye from 1979 to 1987), Dany Johnson (DJ at Club 57 and the Mudd Club), and Gil Vasquez (President of the Keith Haring Foundation and former DJ). 

Moderator: Yannick Franck 

Did you know?

  • GET TO KNOW KEITH HARING IN 5 FACTS

    The visual legacy of American artist Keith Haring mirrors the zeitgeist of a decade and that of a continent. His cartoon-like characters, vivid colours and barking dogs became world famous, but there is more than meets the eye. He satirised national and international politics, he enlivened the eighties party scene and he carried the national – and a personal – fight against AIDS, which he ultimately lost in 1990. BOZAR looks back on the eventful life and work of the American legend in a major retrospective. Here's a sneak peek in five facts.  

    — published on

16

À la fin des années 70, New York est une ville déprimée, au bord de la faillite et presque entièrement aux mains de gangs criminels. Dans le sud de la ville, et plus particulièrement au sud de la 14e rue et à l'est de Greenwich Village, le quartier de East Village attire de nombreux artistes cherchant des logements à bas prix. 
C'est dans ce renouveau culturel que les communautés de la ville se rencontrent, et que le Hip-Hop, le monde de l'art et l’univers rock et punk se croisent. Cet environnement exceptionnel verra naître la pratique artistique si singulière de Keith Haring. 


Trois acteurs de cette époque viendront nous parler de leur expérience et de leur relation avec lui : Leonard Abrams (rédacteur en chef de la revue The East Village Eye de 1979 à 1987), Dany Johnson (DJ au Club 57 et au Mudd Club) et Gil Vasquez  (Président de la Fondation Keith Haring et ancien DJ). 

Modérateur : Yannick Franck

Le saviez-vous ?

  • CINQ CHOSES À SAVOIR SUR KEITH HARING

    L’héritage visuel de l’artiste américain Keith Haring est le reflet d’un état d’esprit, celui d’une décennie et d’un continent. Ses personnages qui font écho à la bande dessinée, ses couleurs vives et ses chiens aboyeurs ont fait le tour du monde, mais cette production artistique ne doit pas masquer une autre facette de sa personnalité. Keith Haring s’en est pris à la politique intérieure et étrangère et a pimenté la vie nocturne et les soirées clubbing des eighties, livrant aussi un combat national – et personnel – contre le virus du sida qui allait finalement l’emporter dans les années 1990. La grande rétrospective que lui consacre BOZAR revient sur la vie mouvementée et l’œuvre de cette légende américaine. Petit avant-goût en cinq faits.

    — publié le