19
Willem Suilen ensemble

Willem Suilen piano, composition – Victor Pevernagie violin – Julien Gillain violin – Coline Meulemans viola – Joachim Jamaer cello – Filippe Caporali double-bass – Pierre Hurty drums

Reinier Baas & Ben Van Gelder


20h00-21h00 : Willem Suilen

21h00-21h30 : PAUSE

21h30-22h30 : Reinier Baas & Ben Van Gelder

The Toots Thielemans Jazz Award, now in its eleventh year, highlights the successful partnership between BOZAR, the Royal Conservatory of Brussels and the Friends of the Conservatory over the last year. The purpose of this prestigious award is to encourage and promote the Conservatory's creative and aspiring young talent and to help launch the winners’ careers on a national or even international level. To that end, the winners receive a cash prize of €5000.

Jazz legend Toots Thielemans saw it as an honour to be associated with this award and always took a keen interest in the musical exploits of the past winners.

This year's winner, who was chosen unanimously by a panel of professional jazz teachers, is Dutch pianist Willem Suilen, a 2019 graduate of the Royal Conservatory of Brussels. Tonight Willem appears with his jazz trio accompanied by a classical string quartet. He performs his own lyrical compositions and richly coloured arrangements.

Specially for this year's TTJA concert we are offering the winner the chance to collaborate with the musician of his dreams: leading guitarist Reinier Baas from the Netherlands, of whom the authoritative magazine Jazzism writes:


“A breathtakingly talented guitarist, who is able to impress and touch with his instrument and a gifted composer who dares to take risk on top of this.”
– JAZZISM

He is joined by his saxophonist buddy Ben Van Gelder for the second part of this unique concert, where they blend improvisation with technology and (electronic) instruments to add a remarkable new dimension to their performance.

11
Willem Suilen ensemble

Willem Suilen piano, composition – Victor Pevernagie violon – Julien Gillain violon – Coline Meulemans violon alto – Joachim Jamaer violoncelle – Filippe Caporali contrebasse – Pierre Hurty batterie

Reinier Baas & Ben Van Gelder


20h00-21h00 : Willem Suilen

21h00-21h30 : PAUSE

21h30-22h30 : Reinier Baas & Ben Van Gelder

Le Toots Thielemans Jazz Award, qui en est déjà à sa onzième édition, met en lumière la collaboration réussie de l’année écoulée entre BOZAR, le Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel (KBC) et son Cercle d’amis. L’attribution de cette récompense prestigieuse a pour but d’encourager et de promouvoir la création et l’esprit d’initiative des jeunes talents de jazz du KCB, et d’offrir une plateforme de lancement à leur carrière nationale – et qui sait, internationale. Le lauréat se voit ainsi attribuer un prix de 5.000 €.

Dès le début, Toots Thielemans, véritable légende du jazz, a été honoré d’associer son nom à ce concours, et il a toujours suivi tous les lauréats au fil de leur carrière musicale. 

Cette année, le lauréat choisi à l’unanimité par un jury professionnel de professeurs de jazz est le pianiste néerlandais Willem Suilen, diplômé en 2019 du Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel. Willem joue ce soir avec son trio de jazz, accompagné par un quatuor à cordes classique. Il interprète ses propres compositions lyriques et des arrangements hauts en couleurs.

Cette année, nous donnons au lauréat l’opportunité de collaborer, lors de ce concert TTJA, avec le musicien de ses rêves : le guitariste de pointe néerlandais Reinier Baas, décrit ainsi par l’influent magazine Jazzism: 

“A breathtakingly talented guitarist, who is able to impress and touch with his instrument and   gifted composer who dares to take risk on top of this.” (« Un guitariste au talent à couper le souffle, impressionnant et émouvant à l’instrument, et tout aussi audacieux et doué lorsqu’il s’agit de prendre la plume. »)
– JAZZISM

Avec son collègue saxophoniste Ben Van Gelder, il assurera la deuxième partie de ce concert unique où la rencontre entre improvisation, technologie et instruments (électroniques) donnera une nouvelle dimension surprenante à leur performance.