20

Het CollectiefGregor Mayrhofer conductor – Lucile Richardot alto – Yves Saelens tenor

No other composer bade farewell to the world as eloquently, as evocatively and as frequently as Gustav Mahler. Death rears its head again and again throughout his oeuvre: sometimes gentle and reassuring, sometimes savage and intense. Das Lied von der Erde, composed during an extremely difficult period of his life, is no exception to this.   
 
Mahler based Das Lied von der Erde on very free and romanticised translations of ancient Chinese poetry by the German poet Hans Bethge. In these lyrics, a sudden awareness of one’s own mortality brings about a hedonistic enjoyment of the beauty of nature. The final movement bids a resigned farewell.   
 
The recently deceased composer, conductor and pianist Reinbert de Leeuw wrote a new arrangement of Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde for the Brussels ensemble Het Collectief. His version has a songlike intimacy, and is the last score he completed before his death.   

Did you know?

  • All is not lost!

    KLARAFESTIVAL 2021 AT BOZAR

    In an age when quality recordings from the classical repertoire are just a click away, Klarafestival 2021 will be focusing on undiscovered work, new creations and symbioses of sound and image. With the title Es ist noch nicht alles verloren! we want to send a message of hope and comfort into the world. 

    — published on

20

Het CollectiefGregor Mayrhofer direction – Lucile Richardot alto – Yves Saelens ténor

Aucun compositeur n’a fait ses adieux au monde de façon aussi éloquente, pénétrante et récurrente que Gustav Mahler. La mort revient sans cesse dans son œuvre : tantôt douce et rassurante, tantôt sauvage et violente. Das Lied von der Erde, composé dans une période particulièrement pénible de sa vie, ne fait pas exception à la règle.
 
Mahler y évoque le lyrisme naturaliste chinois ancien dans une traduction allemande – particulièrement libre et romancée – du poète Hans Bethge. Dans ces textes, une soudaine prise de conscience du caractère éphémère de la vie humaine invite à une jouissance hédoniste de la beauté de la nature. Le dernier mouvement est le moment de l’adieu résigné.
 
Le compositeur, chef d’orchestre et pianiste Reinbert de Leeuw, récemment décédé, a écrit pour l’ensemble bruxellois Het Collectief un arrangement inédit de Das Lied von der Erde. Sa version, la dernière partition achevée avant sa mort, est empreinte de l’intimité du lied.
 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Es ist noch nicht alles verloren!

    KLARAFESTIVAL 2021 BIJ BOZAR

    À une époque où il suffit d’un clic pour découvrir des enregistrements de grande qualité du répertoire classique, le Klarafestival 2021 s’oriente vers les œuvres méconnues, les nouvelles créations et les symbioses entre son et image. Avec pour titre Tout n’est pas encore perdu !, cette nouvelle édition adresse au monde un message  d’espoir et de consolation.

    — publié le