20

B'RockIlse Eerens soprano – Shuang Zou director – Dan Potra set design – Mario Devetak video – Peter Quasters lighting design – Lieve Pynoo costumes

Programme

Neun deutsche Arien, HWV 202-210 Georg Friedrich Händel
New compositions for instrumental ensemble (commissioned by B’Rock Orchestra) Wim Henderickx


Those going in search of the philosophical roots of the worldwide climate anxiety will sooner or later end up in the eighteenth century. A thinker such as Rousseau is not just the patron saint of social criticism and romanticism, but also of contemporary environmental movements. 
 
The new kind of awareness of nature that arrived at the end of the baroque period was also documented in Georg Friedrich Handel’s Neun deutsche Arien. In this intimate song cycle, Handel used the poetry of the early romantic Barthold Heinrich Brockes. He wrote with great passion of the moving beauty of nature.  
 
The Belgian baroque ensemble B’Rock and soprano Ilse Eerens juxtapose the Neun deutsche Arien with brief compositions for baroque ensemble by the Antwerp composer Wim Henderickx. The Chinese theatre director Shuang Zou and Muziektheater Transparant provide the stage concept for this production.
 

Did you know?

  • All is not lost!

    KLARAFESTIVAL 2021 AT BOZAR

    In an age when quality recordings from the classical repertoire are just a click away, Klarafestival 2021 will be focusing on undiscovered work, new creations and symbioses of sound and image. With the title Es ist noch nicht alles verloren! we want to send a message of hope and comfort into the world. 

    — published on

20

B'RockIlse Eerens soprano – Shuang Zou mise en scène – Dan Potra décors – Mario Devetak vidéo – Peter Quasters éclairages – Lieve Pynoo costumes

Programme

Neun deutsche Arien, HWV 202-210 Georg Friedrich Haendel
Nouvelles compositions pour ensemble intrumental (commande de B’Rock Orchestra) Wim Henderickx


Dans une recherche des origines philosophiques de nos préoccupations mondiales vis-à-vis du climat, on finit tôt ou tard par revenir au XVIIIe siècle. Un penseur tel que Rousseau est non seulement le saint patron de la critique de la civilisation et du romantisme, mais aussi celui des mouvements écologistes contemporains.
 
L’émergence, à la fin de la période baroque, d’un nouveau type d’approche de la nature est également documentée par les Neun deutsche Arien de Georg Friedrich Händel. Pour ce cycle intime de lieder, Händel a opté pour les textes du poète romantique précoce Barthold Heinrich Brockes. Il parvient ainsi à décrire avec une grande sensibilité l’émouvante beauté de la nature.
 
L’ensemble baroque belge B’Rock et la soprano Ilse Eerens font dialoguer les Neun deutsche Arien avec de courtes compositions pour ensemble baroque du compositeur anversois Wim Henderickx. Le metteur en scène de théâtre Shuang Zou et Muziektheater Transparant assurent le concept scénique de cette production.
 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Es ist noch nicht alles verloren!

    KLARAFESTIVAL 2021 BIJ BOZAR

    À une époque où il suffit d’un clic pour découvrir des enregistrements de grande qualité du répertoire classique, le Klarafestival 2021 s’oriente vers les œuvres méconnues, les nouvelles créations et les symbioses entre son et image. Avec pour titre Tout n’est pas encore perdu !, cette nouvelle édition adresse au monde un message  d’espoir et de consolation.

    — publié le