11

Watch the online screening here.

​​​​​​​Roger Raveel
would have celebrated his 100th birthday in 2021. The perfect occasion for Canvas to devote a new documentary to perhaps our most important post-war artist, also celebrated by BOZAR with a retrospective opening in March. 
 

Raveel was born in the village of Machelen-aan-de-Leie in East Flanders, where he lived his entire life. It is there that the documentary filmmakers Pieter Verbiest and Bertrand Lafontaine set to work with their camera, in search of the people who had known him well.  

​​​​​​​As a result, Wij, Roger Raveel (‘We, Roger Raveel’) is not only a portrait of one of the most radical innovators in Belgian or even European painting but also a portrait of some of his most loyal supporters, such as the poet Roland Jooris and Luc Levrau, for decades his right-hand man and technical assistant.  

Did you know?

  • Introducing Roger Raveel

    The eternal individualist

    In 2021 he would have been 100 years old. Roger Raveel is one of Belgium’s greatest post-war artists. In a world in which the arts are increasingly international, he remained local. He did not choose for a particular school or movement but developed his own style. Is it his obstinacy that lies at the root of the remarkable work he left behind? From 18 March, BOZAR is presenting a retrospective of his work. An introduction.

    — published on

See also

11

Regardez le screening en ligne ici.

​​​​​​​Roger Raveel
aurait eu 100 ans en 2021. L’occasion idéale pour Canvas de consacrer un nouveau documentaire à cet artiste qui est sans doute l’un de nos plus grands peintres de l’après-guerre et à qui BOZAR dédie aussi une grande rétrospective à partir de mars.  

Raveel est né à Machelen-aan-de-Leie, un petit village de Flandre orientale où il a passé toute sa vie. C’est là que les documentaristes Pieter Verbiest et Bertrand Lafontaine sont allés à la recherche de personnes qui l’ont bien connu.   
​​​​​​​

Wij, Roger Raveel est donc bien plus que le portrait d’un des représentants les plus radicaux de l’avant-garde picturale belge et même européenne. Il dresse aussi le portrait de ses plus fidèles complices, comme le poète Roland Jooris et Luc Levrau, qui a été pendant des années son bras droit et son assistant technique

Le saviez-vous ?

  • À la découverte de Roger Raveel

    L’éternel individualiste

    Roger Raveel est l’un des plus grands artistes belges de l’après-guerre. Il aurait eu 100 ans en 2021. Dans un contexte d’internationalisation croissante des arts, il a conservé un ancrage local tout au long de sa carrière. Plutôt que d’opter résolument pour une école ou un courant artistique particulier, il a développé son propre style. Cette singularité est-elle à la base de l’œuvre remarquable qu’il a laissée derrière lui ? À partir du 18 mars, BOZAR lui consacre une rétrospective. Faisons connaissance.

    — publié le

Voir aussi