12
Laughing Hole

La Ribot director, concept – Marie-Caroline Hominal performer – Clive Jenkins sound design, performer – La Ribot dance company

Laughing Hole

Magda Ptasznik performer – Clive Jenkins sound design, performer

Laughing Hole

Ruth Childs performer – La Ribot dance company

Laughing Hole

La Ribot director, concept – Ruth Childs performer – Marie-Caroline Hominal performer – Magda Ptasznik performer – Delphine Rosay performer – Clive Jenkins sound design, performer – La Ribot dance company


As Laughing Hole, by the Madrid choreographer La Ribot, opens we see a floor strewn with 900 cardboard signs carrying enigmatic messages. Soon, this floor is paced by the unsteady bodies of four performers whose succession of falls - frenetically accompanied by persistent laughter and strange word associations - reveal a will to occupy the space, every nook and cranny of it, as if in an effort to get back to its physical dimension.

Trained as a dancer, María Ribot is one of the most important choreographers of the Spanish scene and since the mid 80’s she has contributed to the development of new dances. In 1991, she decided to transform her name to the nickname of La Ribot, incorporating her work to the space of plastic arts and performances, creating works framed by video actions from the experience of the body in relation with image and movement. In 1998 she was awarded the National Dance Award of the Spanish Ministry of Culture.

Video

26
Laughing Hole

La Ribot mise en scène, concept – Marie-Caroline Hominal performeur – Clive Jenkins créateur son, performeur – La Ribot compagnie de danse

Laughing Hole

Magda Ptasznik performeur – Clive Jenkins créateur son, performeur

Laughing Hole

Ruth Childs performeur – La Ribot compagnie de danse

Laughing Hole

La Ribot mise en scène, concept – Ruth Childs performeur – Marie-Caroline Hominal performeur – Magda Ptasznik performeur – Delphine Rosay performeur – Clive Jenkins créateur son, performeur – La Ribot compagnie de danse


Laughing Hole de la chorégraphe madrilène La Ribot s’ouvre sur la vision d’un sol jonché de 900 panneaux de carton aux inscriptions énigmatiques. Un sol bientôt arpenté par les corps titubants de trois performers dont les chutes en cascade - rythmées jusqu’au paroxysme par un rire obstiné et d’étranges associations de mots - révèlent une volonté d’occuper l’espace dans ses moindres recoins, comme pour en revenir à sa dimension physique.

Formée à la danse, María Ribot est l'une des chorégraphes les plus importantes de la scène espagnole. Depuis le milieu des années 80, elle a contribué au développement de nouvelles danses. En 1991, elle a décidé de remplacer son nom par le surnom de « La Ribot », intégrant son travail dans l'espace des arts plastiques et de la performance, créant des oeuvres encadrées par des actions vidéo relatant l'expérience du corps en relation avec l'image et le mouvement. En 1998, elle a reçu le Prix national de danse du Ministère espagnol de la Culture.

Video