17

Over forty years ago Claudio Parmiggiani (born in 1943 in Italy) developed a process he named Delocazione. The principle of this process involves the creation of an installation - in this case a library - in a space which is set on fire. Once the combustion is over, the artist removes the books and the smoke and soot traces reveal the silhouettes by default, thus revealing the trace or memory of what disappeared.

The artist describes these shadow sculptures as “sculpted by fire and time, born of fire and of its ashes”. The staging of destruction - a symbolic destruction, for in fact the books are not really burned, merely fumigated - revives memory and, through memory life itself. The prints left behind by the books removed and the soot are symbols of presences that have disappeared. Books are the remnants and the custodians of our memory. What will remain of memory when all the books have disappeared?

Parmiggiani makes what is absent present; he gives what is not there, what has disappeared, its place in the visible. There, he is raising an essential question in art: making the irrepresentable form part of the representation.

“Some places have this kind of energy; they literally throb, and others don’t. If you make a hole in the wall of any medieval cathedral, blood will come out; if you make a hole in the wall of a museum, nothing comes out. When there is nothing, you have to transform the place, give it a few kicks, shake it up, building another memory in this place without memory - your own. I have an ever-stronger desire, not to produce objects, however refined, not to put objects in space whatever way, but to create psychological spaces, evocative places that give a jolt to the senses. Places that have a voice, a heart beating in the thickness of the walls. Making the invisible sensible”.

21

Il y a plus de quarante ans, Claudio Parmiggiani (né en 1943 en Italie) a inventé un procédé qu’il a baptisé Delocazione. Le principe est le suivant : l’artiste crée une installation - dans le cas présent une bibliothèque - dans un espace auquel il met le feu. Une fois la combustion terminée, il enlève les livres ; les traces de fumée et de suie révèlent alors des silhouettes en négatif, l’empreinte ou le souvenir de ce qui a disparu.

L’artiste décrit ces sculptures d’ombres comme « sculptées par le feu et par le temps, nées du feu et de ses cendres ». La mise en scène d’une destruction - symbolique, car les livres ne sont pas vraiment brûlés, à peine altérés par la fumée - ravive la mémoire et, à travers elle, la vie elle-même. Les empreintes laissées par les livres qui ont été retirés et la suie sont les symboles de ce qui a disparu. Les livres sont les vestiges et les gardiens de notre mémoire. Que restera-t-il d’elle quand tous les livres auront disparu ?

Parmiggiani rend présent ce qui est absent ; il rend visible ce qui n’est pas là, ce qui a disparu. Il touche donc à un aspect essentiel de l’art : la représentation de l’irreprésentable.

« Certains lieux ont une énergie, ils palpitent, d'autres pas. Si l'on fait un trou dans le mur de n'importe quelle cathédrale du Moyen Âge, il en sort du sang ; si l'on fait un trou dans le mur d'un musée, il n'en sort rien. J'ai le désir toujours plus fort non pas de produire des objets, aussi raffinés soient-ils, non pas de mettre en place de quelconque façon des objets dans l'espace, mais de créer des lieux psychologiques, des lieux évocateurs qui transmettent une secousse aux sens. Des lieux qui aient une voix, un cœur qui bat dans l'épaisseur des murs. Rendre palpable l’invisible. »