22

The successful BOZAR BOOK CLUB is heading into its second season. Once a month, book-lovers spend an evening talking about a book under the expert guidance of a well-known author. This season sees the launch of a new English-language BOOK CLUB, alongside the existing Dutch- and French-language versions. Join in as we listen to extracts and discuss a series of much-talked-about and stimulating novels, essays, and poetry compilations. Whether you have read the book in advance (always a good idea) or not (take your chances), you are sure to learn something! If you can understand the moderator's language, you are welcome to come along, even if you don't speak it.

The English-language BOOK CLUB is run by Lila Azam Zanganeh. Last season she led its French-language counterpart with verve. A Parisienne with Iranian roots, she lives in New York and writes in English. She has taught both literature and cinema at Harvard and has written for Le Monde and The New York Times, among other publications. Her first book, The Enchanter, about Nabokov and happiness, was published in 2011 and won praise from Orhan Pamuk and Salman Rushdie.

Stefan Hertmans leads the Dutch-language version of the BOOK CLUB. Hertmans is not only one of the leading writers in Flanders; he spent years lecturing in literature and textual analysis, teaching generations of students to read and to think about artistic and social issues.

The young Belgian writer Grégoire Polet is the new linchpin of the French-language version of the BOZAR BOOK CLUB. Following the success of his first novel, Madrid ne dort pas (published in 2005), Polet has become established as one of the key figures of literature in French. Gallimard has published a number of his works and he has won a number of awards, including the Prix Fénéon for Leurs vies éclatantes.

Previously

16

Le BOZAR BOOK CLUB est un lieu précieux qui vous permet de partager les réflexions et les émotions qu'un ouvrage a suscitées. Des auteurs réputés vous convient chaque mois à une séance de lecture et à un débat. La nouveauté de cette saison est l’organisation du BOOK CLUB en anglais aux côtés des réunions animées en néerlandais et en français. Plongez, vous aussi, dans les romans, les essais et les recueils de poésie qui ont marqué la littérature et venez en discuter. Lisez préalablement l’ouvrage et redécouvrez- le à l’occasion de la réunion du cercle ! Bienvenue également à tous ceux qui ne parlent pas la langue du modérateur mais qui la comprennent !

Grégoire Polet est la nouvelle cheville ouvrière du BOZAR BOOK CLUB francophone. Après le vif succès que rencontra en 2005 son premier roman Madrid ne dort pas, ce jeune écrivain belge s'est imposé comme l'une des figures majeures de la littérature francophone. Il a publié depuis plusieurs ouvrages chez Gallimard et collectionné les distinctions (dont le Prix Fénéon, pour Leurs vies éclantantes).

Le club de lecture anglophone est placé sous la direction de Lila Azam Zanganeh. La saison dernière, elle a dirigé avec brio le BOOK CLUB francophone. Cette Parisienne d’origine iranienne vit à New York et écrit en anglais. Elle a enseigné la littérature et le cinéma à l’Université d’Harvard et a notamment écrit pour Le Monde et The New York Times. Son premier livre, L’Enchanteur, traite de Nabokov et du bonheur. Il fut publié en 2011 et salué par Orhan Pamuk et Salman Rushdie.

Le club de lecture néerlandophone est placé sous la direction de Stefan Hertmans. Celui-ci est non seulement un auteur flamand de premier plan, mais il a également enseigné la littérature et l’analyse de texte pendant des années, faisant ainsi lire et réfléchir une ou deux générations d'étudiants sur des questions artistiques et sociales.

Précédemment