19
The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

Levon Eskenian artistic director – Avag Margaryan blul – Armen Ayvazyan kamancheh – Meri Vardanyan kanon – Vladimir Papikyan santur – Davit Avagyan tar, saz – Mesrop Khalatyan dap, dohol

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments EnsembleLevon Eskenian artistic director – Emmanuel Hovhannisyan duduk – Armen Ayvazyan kamancheh – Mesrop Khalatyan dap, dohol

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments EnsembleAram Nikoghosyan oud – Davit Avagyan tar, saz

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments EnsembleLevon Eskenian artistic director – Emmanuel Hovhannisyan duduk – Avag Margaryan blul – Armen Ayvazyan kamancheh – Aram Nikoghosyan oud – Meri Vardanyan kanon – Vladimir Papikyan santur – Davit Avagyan tar, saz – Mesrop Khalatyan dap, dohol – Norayr Gapoyan duduk


The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble was founded in 2008 by the Armenian musician Levon Eskenian in order to revive the music of the Greek-Armenian philosopher, writer, and composer Georges I Gurdjieff (1877-1949). In the course of his many travels around the world in search of truth, Gurdjieff came into contact with countless different traditions of folk and sacred music, rituals, and dances. Drawing on his extensive knowledge of these traditions, he composed some 300 works, which he sang to his pupil the Russian composer and pianist Thomas de Hartmann. Gurdjieff's music is closely bound up with his ideas. But what were those ideas? If humanity wants to be truly human, it must free itself from existing conceptions. It must "wake up" and unite all its vital forces in order to create harmony among them and between them and the cosmic order.

Today, the Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble sets out to return to the musical traditions that Gurdjieff came into contact with. The pieces that Eskenian has selected have their roots in Armenian, Greek, Arab, Assyrian, and Caucasian folk and sacred music. His arrangements, written for traditional instruments, are intended to preserve the authenticity of Gurdjieff's music. When the Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble released a CD of the Music of Georges I Gurdjieff on the ECM label in 2011, the reaction was so positive that they immediately undertook a world tour. The magical moments that the ensemble succeeds in creating form a kind of sound bridge across the centuries and between nations.

We should also mention an earlier CD on ECM, GI Gurdjieff: Sacred Hymns (1980), with a number of the master's pieces performed by Keith Jarrett. A year prior to that, Peter Brook had brought out a film, Meetings with Remarkable Men, based on Gurdjieff's splendid, partly autobiographical, book of the same name, in which music is one of the protagonists.

Previously

17
The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

Levon Eskenian directeur artistique – Avag Margaryan blul – Armen Ayvazyan kamancheh – Meri Vardanyan kanon – Vladimir Papikyan santur – Davit Avagyan tar, saz – Mesrop Khalatyan dap, dohol

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments EnsembleLevon Eskenian directeur artistique – Emmanuel Hovhannisyan duduk – Armen Ayvazyan kamancheh – Mesrop Khalatyan dap, dohol

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments EnsembleAram Nikoghosyan oud – Davit Avagyan tar, saz

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble

The Gurdjieff Folk Instruments EnsembleLevon Eskenian directeur artistique – Emmanuel Hovhannisyan duduk – Avag Margaryan blul – Armen Ayvazyan kamancheh – Aram Nikoghosyan oud – Meri Vardanyan kanon – Vladimir Papikyan santur – Davit Avagyan tar, saz – Mesrop Khalatyan dap, dohol – Norayr Gapoyan duduk


Le Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble a été fondé en 2008 par le musicien arménien Levon Eskenian, dans le but de redonner vie à la musique du philosophe, écrivain et compositeur greco-arménien Georges I Gurdjieff (1877-1949). C’est au cours de ses nombreux voyages à travers le monde - à la recherche de la Vérité - que Gurdjieff est entré en contact avec d’innombrables traditions en matière de musique, rituels et danses, tant populaires que spirituels. Riche de ce bagage, il a composé environ 300 œuvres, qu’il a dictées en chantant à son disciple, le compositeur et pianiste russe Thomas de Hartmann. La musique de Gurdjieff est étroitement liée à sa pensée. Mais en quoi consiste-t-elle exactement ? Si l’homme veut être pleinement humain, il doit se libérer des idées existantes. Il doit « s’éveiller » et concentrer toutes ses forces vitales pour les harmoniser entre elles et avec l’ordre cosmique.

Aujourd’hui, le Gurdieff Folk Instruments Ensemble veut revenir aux traditions musicales qui ont nourri Gurdieff. Les morceaux sélectionnés par Eskenian sont enracinés dans la musique populaire et spirituelle arménienne, grecque, arabe, assyrienne et caucasienne. Ses arrangements, écrits pour des instruments traditionnels, visent à préserver l’authenticité de la musique de Gurdjieff. La sortie du CD Music of Georges I. Gurdjieff sur le label ECM en 2011 a rencontré un tel succès que le Gurdieff Folk Instruments Ensemble a directement pu enchaîner avec une tournée mondiale. Les instants magiques qu’il réussit à créer jettent pour ainsi dire un pont sonore à travers les siècles et les nations.

Ajoutons enfin la parution du CD G.I. Gurdjieff: Sacred Hymns chez ECM en 1980, avec quelques morceaux du maître, interprétés par Keith Jarrett. Un an plus tôt, Peter Brook avait sorti le film Meetings With Remarkable Men, basé sur le texte éponyme et partiellement autobiographique de Gurdjieff. Un document magnifique, dans lequel la musique est un protagoniste à part entière.

Précédemment