25

In the BOZAR BOOK CLUB book-lovers spend an evening talking about a book under the expert guidance of a well-known moderator. If you can understand the moderator's language, you are welcome to come along, even if you don't speak it.

Buelens: "Our memory of the First World War is largely coloured by horror stories about the front. For most compatriots the occupation, however, had a greater impact on their lives. That is the theme of one of the best known and at the same time one of the least read books in our literary history: Occupied City (1921) by Paul Ostaijen, both a cultural-critical story, a typographic experiment and a political (Flemish nationalist) pamphlet. Perhaps the commemoration in 2014 of the beginning of the Great War is the perfect opportunity to really read Occupied City and think about where our country, Europe and our Western culture stand one hundred years later. "

The moderator Geert Buelens is a writer and academic. He writes about the interactions between literature and society and teaches at the University of Utrecht. His work has won the Vlaamse Cultuurprijs voor Essay and the Arkprijs van het Vrije Woord. He is also known for his columns and opinion pieces for various publications, including De Standaard, De Morgen, and Le Soir.

The books are for sale with reduction in Sterling Books (www.sterlingbooks.be)

18

Le BOZAR BOOK CLUB est un cercle de lecteurs au sein duquel des modérateurs réputés vous convient à une séance de lecture et à un débat autour d’un livre. Bienvenue également à tous ceux qui ne parlent pas la langue du modérateur mais qui la comprennent !

Buelens : « Notre souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale est largement alimenté par l’horreur des récits du front. Pour la plupart de nos compatriotes, l’occupation fut cependant une expérience bien plus déterminante encore. C'est ce que raconte l’un des livres à la fois les plus célèbres et les moins lus de toute l’histoire de notre littérature : Bezette Stad (1921) de Paul van Ostaijen, un récit culturel critique, une expérience typographique et un pamphlet politique (nationaliste flamand). La commémoration du début de la Grande Guerre, en 2014, constitue peut-être le moment idéal pour enfin lire Bezette Stad et se demander comment se portent le pays, l’Europe et la culture occidentale, 100 ans plus tard. »

Le modérateur Geert Buelens est écrivain et chercheur. Il traite de l’interaction entre la littérature et la société et enseigne à l’Université d’Utrecht. Son travail a été récompensé par le prix de la Culture flamande pour le meilleur et par l’Arkprijs van het Vrije Woord. En outre, il est célèbre pour ses colonnes et ses articles d’opinion dans De Standaard, De Morgen et Le Soir, entre autres.

Les livres sont en vente en réduction à la librairie Tropismes (www.tropismes.com)