26

"... The Afropolitan must forge an identity through at least three dimensions: national, racial and cultural – with subtle tensions between these components. While our parents can claim one country as their home, we must define our relationship with the places where we live". Inspired by the words of artist Taiye Selasie in a groundbreaking article, Afropolitan presents and celebrates this hybrid and transnational culture in which African artists and artists of African origin freely tell their stories and (re)present themselves.

​​​​​​​

The platform combines art, reflection and experimentation and offers a wide audience of events designed by BOZAR programmers and/or external partners. The programme of the Afropolitan Forum and the Afropolitan Festival are two important building blocks of this. Far from the clichés of a static Africa, they invite you to discover the diversity and vibrancy of this creative scene - which is particularly lively in Belgium.   

Did you know?

  • ARTISTIC AND SOCIAL CHALLENGES

    AFROPOLITAN FESTIVAL

    The fourth edition of the multidisciplinary Afropolitan Festival was held from 28 February to 1 March 2020, and attracted over 5,000 people in a single weekend, which attests to a manifest and keen public interest in African and Afro-descendant contemporary artistic performances. A resounding success and a major undertaking, the festival has built up specific practices, as well as a reflection on the artistic and social challenges of such a cultural event.

    — published on
  • BOZAR celebrates the 60th anniversary of the Congo’s independence

    The Democratic Republic of the Congo celebrates the 60th anniversary of its independence. On this occasion, BOZAR presents a series of online artistic activities, created in cooperation with Congolese cultural artists and the country’s diaspora.

    — published on
  • BOZAR AT HOME

    THE 60TH ANNIVERSARY OF CONGO’S INDEPENDENCE SEEN THROUGH THE EYES OF THREE YOUNG CONGOLESE ARTISTS

    The Congolese art scene is buzzing with incredibly talented young visual artists, such as Pamela Tulizo, Freddy Mutombo and Fransix Tenda Lomba. In June 2020, all three will be in Brussels for professional projects.

     

    — published on
  • KEEP THE LUCID DREAM GOING

    Born of a two-week collaborative residence at See U (Ixelles), When I Finally Wake Up brings together five artists from different cultures and disciplines to the stage. Combining their talent and backgrounds, they bring to life an intense performance that portrays the connection between people who are mutually enriched by their differences. Watch the video of the performance at the Centre for Fine Arts Studio, and read the article to learn about Aline Yasmin’s vision as the project’s coordinator.

    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

04

« … L'Afropolitan doit se forger une identité selon trois dimensions au moins : nationale, raciale et  culturelle - avec de subtiles tensions entre ces composantes. Si nos parents peuvent revendiquer un pays comme étant leur foyer, nous devons définir notre relation avec les lieux où nous vivons. »  


S’inspirant des mots de l’artiste Taiye Selasie, dans un article qui fait date, Afropolitan présente et célèbre cette culture hybride et transnationale dont se réclament des artistes africain.e.s et afrodescendant.e.s. pour se raconter et se (re)présenter librement.  
Associant arts, réflexion et expérimentation, la plateforme propose à un large public des événements conçus par les programmateurs.trices de BOZAR et/ou des partenaires extérieurs. enterLe programme Afropolitan Forum et l’Afropolitan Festival en constituent deux éléments majeurs. Loin des clichés d’une Afrique figée, ils vous invitent à découvrir la diversité et le bouillonnement de cette scène créative, particulièrement vibrante en Belgique.  
 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • QUELS ENJEUX ARTISTIQUES ET SOCIAUX ?

    AFROPOLITAN FESTIVAL

    La quatrième édition de l’Afropolitan Festival s’est déroulée à BOZAR du 28 février au 1er mars 2020. En un week-end, cet événement pluridisciplinaire a réuni plus de 5 000 personnes, attestant un vif intérêt pour les scènes artistiques contemporaines africaines et afro-descendantes. Derrière ce succès et l’aventure de ce festival, se construisent une pratique et une réflexion sur les enjeux artistiques et sociaux d’un tel événement culturel.

    — publié le
  • BOZAR fête le 60ème anniversaire de l’indépendance du Congo

    La République démocratique du Congo célèbre le 60ème anniversaire de son indépendance. BOZAR propose à cette occasion une série d’activités artistiques en ligne, conçues en partenariat avec des artistes et des acteur.trices culturel.les congolais.es et de la diaspora.

    — publié le
  • BOZAR AT HOME

    LE 60ème ANNIVERSAIRE DE L’INDÉPENDANCE DU CONGO VU PAR TROIS JEUNES ARTISTES CONGOLAIS 

    La scène artistique congolaise foisonne de jeunes artistes visuels très talentueux. Parmi eux, on peut citer Pamela Tulizo, Freddy Mutombo et Fransix Tenda Lomba. En ce mois de juin 2020, tous les trois sont à Bruxelles pour des projets professionnels.

     

    — publié le
  • CONTINUER À RÊVER ÉVEILLÉ

    Conçu durant une résidence collaborative de deux semaines à See U (Ixelles), When I Finally Wake Up réunit sur scène cinq artistes aux cultures et aux disciplines différentes. Ils ont su conjuguer leurs talents et leurs backgrounds pour donner naissance à un spectacle intense, soulignant le trait d’union entre les êtres dont les différences s’enrichissent mutuellement. Découvrez la vidéo de ce projet,  filmée au Studio du Palais des Beaux-Arts, ainsi que la vision d’Aline Yasmin, coordinatrice du projet, au travers de cet article.

    — publié le

En cours et à venir

Précédemment