16

Orban Space - Luc Deleu - T.O.P. Office | iMinds (Art & D) [BE]
The Belgian architect and urban planner Luc Deleu, who founded T.O.P. Office in 1970, raises questions about the role of architecture and urban design in a globalised society. The T.O.P Office team and researchers from the iMinds research centre are working together on the Orban Space project. This research and design project deals with public space at the scale of the planet. Its ultimate goal is to create scale-less models that propose a universal design for public space, from the local to the universal or global. The development of this model involves technologies ranging from data visualisation and mapping projection to tomography.

Strata - Quayola [UK]
Altarpieces by Rubens and Van Dyck may seem very distant from our own time. In his Strata #4 installation, however, the Italian contemporary artist Quayola achieves a harmonious dialogue between then and now. Using special software, he transforms symbols of universal beauty and perfection into triggers and instructions for the creation of new, contemporary art. He reduces the old works of art to their essence, to colours and geometric forms, removing their symbolism.

Tripwire - Jean-Michel Albert [FR] & Ashley Fure [USA]
A large-scale multimedia installation in which 24 motorised elastic strings are set in motion to create “synaesthetic” waves. These are caused by software that synchronises the revolutions of the engine with movement, sound, and light. Each vibration results in a sound and generates patterns of light. Tripwire gives physical matter a digital elegance. You can enjoy this delicate interplay of sound, light, and physical movement on a giant screen and you can also influence it by coming closer.

D.W.I (Different Ways To Infinity): Chaos & Clones - Félix Luque Sánchez [ES]
In these two installations, with their geometric and physical experiments, the Spanish artist Félix Luque Sanchés develops imaginary strategies for generating infinity. He focuses on the boundaries between scientific modelling and reality, between theory and perception. The installations play with the different meanings of infinity. In DWI: Chaos, we see physical and electronic phenomena; DWI: Clones is made up of identical centrifuges that use human behaviour to arrive at an equilibrium

Previously

23

Orban Space - Luc Deleu - T.O.P. Office | iMinds (Art & D) [BE]
L’architecte et urbaniste Luc Deleu a fondé T.O.P. Office en 1970 et s’est interrogé sur le rôle de l’architecture et de l’aménagement urbain dans une société mondialisée. L’équipe de T.O.P Office et les collaborateurs du département de recherche iMinds collaborent au projet Orban Space. Cette recherche par projet traite de l’espace public à l’échelle de la planète. L’objectif ultime de ce projet est de créer un modèle dépourvu d’échelle qui propose une conception universelle de l’espace public, du niveau « local » au niveau « mondial ». Le développement de ce modèle remettra en question les technologies, de la visualisation des données et de la projection cartographique à la tomographie.

Strata - Quayola [UK]
Les retables de Rubens et Van Dyck semblent bien éloignés de notre époque. Avec l’installation Strata #4, l’artiste contemporain italien Quayola fait entrer le passé et le présent dans un dialogue harmonieux. À l’aide d’un logiciel spécial, il transforme les symboles de beauté universelle et de perfection en déclencheurs et instructions pour créer des œuvres contemporaines nouvelles. Il réduit l’art ancien à son essence, des couleurs et des formes géométriques, qu’il défait de leur symbolique.

Tripwire - Jean-Michel Albert [FR] & Ashley Fure [USA]
Une installation multimédia à grande échelle avec 24 cordes élastiques motorisées sur lesquelles des vagues « synthétiques » prennent vie. Elles sont générées par un logiciel qui synchronise le régime du moteur avec des mouvements, des sons et de la lumière. Chaque oscillation émet un son et forme des modèles lumineux. Tripwire confère une élégance numérique aux matériaux physiques. Admirez ce jeu de sons, lumière et mouvements physiques sur grand écran et influencez-le en vous rapprochant.

D.W.I (Different Ways To Infinity): Chaos & Clones - Félix Luque Sánchez [ES]
Dans ces deux installations faites d’expérimentations géométriques et physiques, l’artiste espagnol Félix Luque Sanchés développe des stratégies fictives pour générer l’infini. Il se concentre sur les frontières entre la modélisation scientifique et la réalité, entre la théorie et la perception. Les installations jouent avec les différentes significations de l’infini. Dans DWI: Chaos, vous observerez des phénomènes physiques et électroniques. DWI: Clones est constitué de pendules qui utilisent les comportements humains pour parvenir à l’équilibre.

Précédemment