23

The children of the founding fathers of Europe were awarded the Nobel Prize for Peace in 2012. They were proud that Europe has managed to further peace, reconciliation, democracy and respect for human rights for the past sixty years. Today, their children stare fearfully towards the borders of that self-same Europe. They see war, hate, dictatorship and repression. That pride has now made way for fear.

Europe is the Promised Land for outcasts from the south and east. However, Europe is closing off its borders with barbed wire and hard-hitting slogans. The shining example for the whole world is in danger of becoming a fortified stronghold. And the drawbridge is slowly but surely being raised.

Europeans cling to their shaky certainties and are afraid to lose their prosperity. And for that, they even appear to be prepared to sacrifice a share of peace, reconciliation, democracy and human rights.

Has the belief in a European Union that can be an example for the whole world disappeared forever? Will the new generation carry the torch passed onto it by the older generation and will they continue to tread the shining path. Or will they take up arms to ensure that those less fortunate than them in the world are kept at a safe distance?

BOZAR’s idea behind the ‘Next Generation, Please!’ project is to get today’s youngsters to join them in writing a new European story. They are doing that in their own, new language that they are developing with artists, thinkers and politicians. Perhaps they will come up with fresh ideas and write a new chapter. Or maybe they will stay behind, unable to find the right words. Perhaps they’ll whisper… or shout themselves hoarse.

Previously

23

En 2012, les héritiers des pères fondateurs de l’Europe ont reçu le Prix Nobel de la Paix. Quelle fierté de voir comment l’Europe était parvenue, ces soixante dernières années, à préserver la paix, la réconciliation, la démocratie et le respect des droits de l’homme. Aujourd’hui, la nouvelle génération jette un regard soucieux vers les frontières de cette même Europe. Elle y voit la guerre, la dictature et la répression. La fierté a fait place à la peur.

L’Europe, terre promise pour de nombreux laisser-pour-comptes venus du sud ou de l’est, barricade ses frontières avec du barbelé et un discours impitoyable. L’Europe, autrefois brillant exemple aux yeux du monde entier, est en passe de devenir une citadelle fortifiée. Lentement mais sûrement, ses portes se referment.

Les Européens s’accrochent à leurs certitudes vacillantes, par crainte de perdre leur prospérité. Ils semblent même prêts à renoncer partiellement à la paix, à la réconciliation, à la démocratie et aux droits de l’homme.

La foi en une Union européenne capable de donner l’exemple au monde entier a-t-elle disparu ? La nouvelle génération portera-t-elle le flambeau transmis par ses aïeuls sur le chemin de la lumière ? Ou choisira-t-elle de prendre les armes pour tenir à distance tous ceux qui sont moins bien lotis ?

Par le biais du projet « Next Generation, Please ! », BOZAR souhaite offrir l’opportunité aux jeunes d’écrire l’histoire de l’Europe de demain, dans un nouveau langage développé avec le concours d’artistes, penseurs et de responsables politiques. Vont-ils inventer de nouvelles idées, écrire un nouveau chapitre européen ? Resteront-ils sans voix, incapables de trouver les mots justes ? Peut-être murmureront-ils... ou crieront-ils à haute voix.

Précédemment