24

The film will be available online on RADAR on the day of the screening, between 10:00 am and midnight: code MESETABOZAR
bozar.be/en/magazine/169627-miradas---spain-on-film​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Somewhere in central Spain, a shepherd dreams of traveling to Titicaca, a retired musical duo recollects on their golden age, two girls unsuccessfully look for Pokémon and an old man counts all the empty homes in town to fall asleep. The characters in this film look like geographical features in a land whose culture and lifestyle seem to be fading away.

​​​​​​​Juan Palacios (Eibar, 1986) is a filmmaker living and working in Copenhagen, Denmark. His work lies somewhere between the film essay, observational documentary, visual diary and experimental. He has produced, written and directed several short films. The Tibetan Spider and Corte Profundo won the European Short Film Competition CTL 59" two years in a row in 2015 and 2016. Pedaló is his first feature film and won the Irizar Award for Basque Film at the 2016 San Sebastian Festival. Meseta is his second feature film.

Did you know?

  • Online film festival

    Miradas - Spain on Film

    Every year, BOZAR and the Instituto Cervantes present the ‘Spain on Film’ event, which showcaes the best of new Spanish cinema. This year, two debut feature films, with a special focus on Spanish youth, directed by two women, will be available on the BOZAR At Home platform: they are La Hija de un ladrón, which has won several awards, including Best Actress Award at the San Sebastian Film Festival and the Goya for Best New Director, and La Inocencia, which received the Gaudi for Best Supporting Actress. The event closes with Meseta, a documentary about rural Spain.

    — published on

24

Le film sera disponible en ligne sur RADAR le jour de la projection, entre 10h et minuit: code MESETABOZAR
bozar.be/fr/magazine/169627-miradas---spain-on-film​​​​​​​

Quelque part dans la Meseta espagnole, un berger rêve de se rendre au Titicaca, un duo de musiciens à la retraite se souvient de son âge d’or, deux filles cherchent vainement des Pokémon et un grand-père compte les maisons vides du village pour s’endormir. Les personnages du film apparaissent comme des reliefs dans un territoire dont la culture et le mode de vie semblent s’évanouir avec le temps.

Juan Palacios (Eibar, 1986) est un cinéaste vivant et travaillant à Copenhague, au Danemark. Son travail se situe entre l'essai cinématographique, le documentaire d'observation, le journal visuel et l'expérimental. Il a produit, écrit et réalisé plusieurs courts métrages. The Tibetan Spider et Corte Profundo ont remporté la Compétition européenne du court métrage CTL 59" deux années de suite en 2015 et 2016. Pedaló est son premier long métrage et a remporté le prix Irizar du film basque au Festival de Saint-Sébastien 2016. Meseta est son deuxième long métrage.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Online film festival

    Miradas - Spain on Film

    BOZAR et l'Instituto Cervantes proposent chaque année l'événement Spain on Film qui reprend le meilleur du nouveau cinéma espagnol. Cette année, deux premiers long-métrages, qui font la part belle à la jeunesse espagnole, réalisés par deux femmes, seront disponibles sur la plateforme BOZAR At Home : La Hija de un ladrón, multi-récompensé avec, notamment, le Prix de la Meilleure actrice au Festival de San Sebastian et le Goya pour la Meilleure nouvelle réalisatrice et La Inocencia qui a reçu le Gaudi de la meilleure actrice secondaire. Meseta, documentaire sur l'Espagne rurale clôturera le Focus.

    — publié le