03

BOZAR commissions the first anthology of the poetry of fashion designer, musician, painter, and Paris icon Vava Dudu. Her poems that she publishes on garments transit fashion and music in an outstanding exercise of pop and punk cultures. Translated from French to English by New York artist, musician and educator Geo Wyeth, and edited by Castilian writer and curator Alberto García del Castillo, this anthology is a threefold that includes: Five six-meter long drawings issued from a 2020 notebook of more and less recent poems and drawings by Vava. A book edited from the same notebook and published by Berlin-based publishing house TABLOID press. And the reading of those poems in an exceptional evening of words and music.

 

Vava starts working in fashion in the 1990s. After experiences with designers like Jean-Paul Gaultier, for whom she designed corsets, she gains recognition for her collection of accessories in ancient beads. In 2001 she is awarded the prestigious ANDAM fashion price for her collaboration with Fabrice Lorrain. Vava and Fabrice refuse conventional costume making, instead they modify and write on already existing clothes in a DIY manner. In 2002 Vava, Nikolu and Stéphane Argillet form the electro-punk band La Chatte. Vava is the lyricist and singer of the band. Soon after, Vava starts publishing poems on second hand clothes that she customizes. Many of these poems are issued from her song writing practice with La Chatte, and are originally handwritten in French on garments styled in punk tastes. They have all been issued in uncountable copies and variations, which Vava writes and paints in exhibitions, shops, concerts and parties. Some are sold, some are kept in Vava’s studio in Paris. Courrèges and other fashion houses have recently collaborated with Vava. When writing, Vava uses markers, Vava stitches and draws, Vava uses paint: white paint on red faux leather.

 

Geo works in the realms of music, performance, narrative sculpture, and video. Their ongoing project Muck Studies Dept. connects black/American music, extractive industry sites, and techniques of investigative journalism to trouble the swampy waters of racial histories and ideas of homeland. Geo has shown work at the New Museum, Stedelijk Museum, MoMA PS1, Dutch National Opera, Triangle France, Anthology Film Archives, The Kitchen, TENT, Arsenic, Biquini Wax, LA MoCA, New York Live Arts, The Studio Museum in Harlem, Boston ICA, La MaMa Theatre, Human Resources, The Pyramid Club, Joe’s Pub, and many others. They are co-founder of the queer social space Tender Center in Rotterdam. Geo was in residence at the Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten for the years 2015 to 2016 in Amsterdam, and currently teaches at the Dutch Art Institute (DAI) where they focus on embodied tactics of performance, storytelling, and remembering.

 

Alberto is most well known for writing the biography of French-Italian merman, musician and entertainer Steev Lemercier in 2017. Alberto has recently scripted and performed the words of Esther Newton, Ocaña, and Luis Zapata, this last one in collaboration with Mexican scholar Susana Vargas Cervantes. Alberto has published two other books, Midpoint and Retrospective, and written for periodicals such as Girls Like Us, Petunia, and the review of the Photo Museum of Antwerp. With Marnie Slater, he runs the Brussels-based queer arts initiative Buenos Tiempos, Int.

 

TABLOID Press is a Berlin-based textual platform initiated in 2014 by two poets, Nat Marcus and Zoe Darsee. TABLOID Press is intended to stimulate and integrate poetic environments within social communities.

The book's publication is made possible with additional support from Spain Arts & Culture in Belgium.

Did you know?

  • Keith Haring and the NY club scene

    The Art of the Party

    When Keith Haring arrived in New York at the end of the 1970s it was a very different place from what it is today. The decade had been extremely volatile economically and the city was pretty much bankrupt. The millionaires still swanned around Central Park uptown but downtown neighbourhoods like the East Village were derelict , dangerous and undesirable. Cheap rents made it a magnet for the young, the liberal and the artistic, and Keith Haring and his friends ticked al of those boxes:

    — published on

30

BOZAR a commandé la première anthologie orale de Vava Dudu, créatrice de mode, musicienne, peintre et icône parisienne. Ses poèmes, qu’elle publie sur des vêtements, se déclinent au rythme de la mode et de la musique dans un exercice exceptionnel aux accents pop et punk. Traduite du français vers l’anglais par l’artiste new-yorkais Geo Wyeth, et éditée par l’écrivain et commissaire d’art castillan Alberto García del Castillo, cette anthologie vivante se présente sous la forme: de cinq dessins de six mètres de long, extraits d'un notebook 2020 de poèmes et de dessins plus et moins récents de Vava. D'un livre édité à partir de même cahier et publié par la maison d'édition berlinoise TABLOID Press. Et de lecture de ces poèmes durant une soirée exceptionelle de mots et de musique.

 

Vava a fait ses débuts dans l’industrie de la mode dans les années 90. Après avoir travaillé avec de grands stylistes comme Jean-Paul Gaultier, pour qui elle a dessiné des corsets, Vava s’est fait un nom en créant une collection d’accessoires en perles anciennes. En 2001, elle a décroché le prestigieux prix de l’ANDAM (Association nationale française pour le développement des arts de la mode) pour sa collaboration avec Fabrice Lorrain, tous les deux préférant customiser des vêtements déjà existants – plutôt que de suivre la voie classique de fabrication – en les détournant ou en écrivant des messages dessus. En 2002, Vava, Nikolu et Stéphane Argillet fondent un groupe d’électro-punk baptisé La Chatte. Vava est la parolière et chanteuse du groupe. Peu de temps après, elle s’est mise à écrire des poèmes sur des vêtements de seconde main qu’elle avait choisi de relooker, en se basant sur son expérience d’écriture pour son groupe La Chatte. Ces poèmes sont écrits à la main en français sur des vêtements réinventés à la sauce punk. Ils ont tous été reproduits en de nombreux exemplaires et sous de nombreuses formes, et sont écrits et peints par Vava à l’occasion d’expositions, d’ateliers, de concerts et autres événements. Certaines pièces sont proposées à la vente, tandis que d’autres sont conservées dans le studio de Vava à Paris. Courrèges et d’autres grandes maisons de couture ont récemment fait appel aux talents de Vava. Pour immortaliser ses poèmes, Vava coud, dessine et utilise des marqueurs.

 

Geo travaille dans le monde de la musique, de la performance, de la sculpture narrative et de la vidéo. Son projet actuel, Muck Studies Dept., associe de la musique afro-américaine, une enquête sur l’industrie extractive et des techniques de journalisme d’investigation dans le but de troubler les eaux marécageuses de l’histoire raciale et du concept de « patrie ». Parmi les nombreux lieux qui ont déjà exposé le travail de Geo, citons : le New Museum, le Stedelijk Museum, le MoMA PS1, l’opéra national néerlandais, Triangle France, l’Anthology Film Archives, The Kitchen, TENT, Arsenic, Biquini Wax, LA MoCA, New York Live Arts, The Studio Museum in Harlem, Boston ICA, le théâtre La MaMa, Human Resources, The Pyramid Club, Joe’s Pub et bien d’autres. Geo est aussi une des personnes cofondatrices de l’espace social Tender Center, à Rotterdam, destiné à la communauté queer. En 2015 et 2016, Geo a été résident à la Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, à Amsterdam. Aujourd’hui, Geo enseigne au Dutch Art Institute (DAI), se concentrant sur des techniques de performance personnifiées, sur le storytelling et sur le souvenir.

 

Alberto est surtout connu pour avoir rédigé, en 2017, la biographie de l’homme-sirène, musicien et entertainer franco-italien Steev Lemercier. Alberto a récemment écrit des scénarios et interprété les paroles d’Esther Newton, d’Ocaña et de Luis Zapata, cette dernière performance l’ayant amené à collaborer avec la chercheuse et écrivaine mexicaine Susana Vargas Cervantes. Alberto a publié deux autres ouvrages, Midpoint et Retrospective, en plus d’avoir écrit pour des périodiques comme Girls Like Us, Petunia et la revue du Musée de le Photographie d’Anvers. Aux côtés de Marnie Slater, il est commissaire du collectif artistique queer basé à Bruxelles Buenos Tiempos, Int.

 

TABLOID Press est une platforme textuelle basée à Berlin lancée en 2014 par deux poètes, Nat Marcus et Zoe Darsee. TABLOID Press s'emploie à stimuler et à intégrer des inveronnements poétiques au sein de communautés sociales. 

 

La publication du livre est rendue possible grâce au soutien d'Espagne Arts & Culture en Belgique.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Sans le sou à NYC

    Keith Haring et l'art de la fête

    À son arrivée à New York à la fin des années 1970, Keith Haring découvre une métropole au visage bien différent de celui d'aujourd'hui. La décennie avait été marquée par une extrême volatilité économique, et la ville était aux abois sur le plan financier. Tandis que les quartiers chics autour de Central Park abritaient leur lot de millionnaires, les quartiers du centre comme East Village étaient délaissés, dangereux et malfamés. Les loyers bon marché ont eu tôt fait d'attirer les jeunes, les libéraux et les artistes, trois catégories auxquelles appartenaient Keith Haring et ses amis :

    — publié le