25

A fire broke out on the roof of the Centre for Fine Arts on January 18. Your emotional messages of support touch us deeply. We are currently evaluating the damage and will be closed until January 25. Thank you for understanding.

The exhibition Philippe Vandenberg. Molenbeek is an eyewitness report. It is made up of large and small observations on paper, spanning Philippe Vandenberg’s final years, which he spent in Molenbeek. In his drawings and assemblages, Vandenberg takes the viewer on a tour of burlesque Molenbeek: an imaginary site where personal and collective traumas become entangled with metropolitan problems and global conflicts. Through this satirical universe, Vandenberg exposes the recurring structures of oppression, fundamentalism and one-dimensional thinking. Molenbeek is the first solo exhibition of the late works on paper by Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009). 

 

Learn more about Philippe Vandenberg’s Molenbeek years

 

​​​​​​​Can't wait to visit this exhibition? You can already take a virtual dive via our 3D scans.

Did you know?

  • Our exhibition spaces reopen on December 1

    We are very pleased to tell you that the exhibitions at BOZAR have reopened!

    read more
    — published on
  • Your visit to our exhibitions

    We are happy to welcome you again at BOZAR! Our exhibitions Danser BrutHotel BeethovenPhilippe Vandenberg. Molenbeek and Facing Van Eyck will be open as of Tuesday 1 December.

    read more
    — published on
  • The artist who resists

    WHO IS PHILIPPE VANDENBERG?

    The Belgian artist Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009) was a man of many faces: he drew, painted and played with word and image. Keep moving and take risks to challenge artistic and social orders: that was his credo. The vagabond moved from Ghent to Molenbeek in 2006. We are exhibiting his work from this Brussels period from 17 September in BOZAR. Who was this radical Belgian artist? A brief introduction.

    — published on

08

Le 18 janvier, un incendie s'est propagé sur les toits du Palais des Beaux-Arts. Nous vous remercions chaleureusement pour les nombreux messages de soutien que vous nous avez adressés. Les experts évaluant actuellement les dommages, nous serons malheureusement fermés jusqu'au 25 janvier. Merci pour votre compréhension.

L’exposition Philippe Vandenberg. Molenbeek est un témoignage oculaire de grandes et petites observations couchées sur papier par Philippe Vandenberg lors de ses dernières années passées à Molenbeek. Dans ses dessins et ses assemblages, il nous fait découvrir un Molenbeek burlesque : un site imaginaire où les traumatismes privés et collectifs se confondent avec les problématiques des grandes villes et les conflits mondiaux. À travers cet univers satirique, Vandenberg dénonce les structures récurrentes de la répression, du fondamentalisme et de la pensée unique. Molenbeek est la première exposition solo dédiée aux dernières œuvres sur papier de Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009).

 

Pour en savoir plus sur les années passées par Philippe Vandenberg à Molenbeek.

 

​​​​​​​Vous êtes impatient de visiter cette exposition ? Vous pouvez déjà vous y plonger grâce à une visite virtuelle à travers nos scans en 3D.

 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Ouverture des salles d'exposition le 1er décembre

    C’est avec un immense plaisir que nous vous annonçons la réouverture des expositions. 

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • Le dessinateur rebelle

    QUI EST PHILIPPE VANDENBERG ?

    Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009) était un artiste belge aux multiples facettes : il dessinait, peignait et jouait avec les mots et les images. Son crédo ? Rester toujours en mouvement et prendre des risques pour remettre en question l’ordre artistique et l’ordre social. En 2006, l’artiste vagabond quittait Gand pour s’installer à Molenbeek. À partir du 17 septembre, BOZAR expose des œuvres de la période bruxelloise de l’artiste. Mais qui était cet artiste belge radical ? Petit tour d’horizon  

    — publié le