26

Do you find the dancefloor a little too crazy and yearn for something a little more intimate? Then the BOZAR ELECTRONIC SERIES is just for you. Discover the latest musical trends which shift the boundaries of electro and experimental music. 

Valgeir Sigurðsson (Is) & In Praise of Folly (B) present Cognitive Models

Icelandic composer and music producer Valgeir Sigurðsson built a genre-fluid catalogue of works spanning music for film and TV, electronics and orchestras, theatre and dance, and lastly, a computer game.
Valgeir founded the Bedroom Community label in 2006, with friends and fellow composers Nico Muhly and Ben Frost. In addition to producing nearly all of the label’s releases, he has had a hand in over 100 recordings by artists such as Björk, Feist, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Ane Brun, Damon Albarn, Anohni and CocoRosie as producer, arranger, engineer or performer. 
In Praise of Folly is a Brussels-based string quartet comprised of classical musicians who are a unique product of their generation. Concretely, this translates into a philosophy of collaboration, expansion, and cross-genre performance. 
Looking to bring the sounds of strings to a context of electronic music, In Praise of Folly discovered Valgeir Sigurðsson’s work, notably his most recent compositions featuring strings. Intrigued by his work’s textures and sounds, the quartet approached him with the idea of creating an album together. 
The result is a world premiere during our Bozar Electronic Series.
Klara Lewis (Se)
Klara Lewis is a Swedish composer born in 1993. Her critically acclaimed debut album Ett was released by Viennese record label Editions Mego in 2014, followed by an EP on Peder Mannerfelt's label and in 2018, back on Mego, she recorded an album with the prolific British producer Simon Fisher Turner. Lewis's music is a highly personal blend of field recordings and abstract rythmic textures, which she gradually sculpts into a hybrid sonic field. Even if her approach is complex to define, she is definitely a part of today's digital avant-garde music landscape, managing to take her sounds to warm, sinuous and very organic regions.

See also

12

Vous n’êtes pas du genre à sauter sur la piste de danse ? Les soirées BOZAR ELECTRONIC SERIES, plus intimes, sont faites pour vous. Elles vous font découvrir les dernières tendances musicales qui repoussent les frontières de la musique expérimentale et électronique.

Valgeir Sigurðsson (Is) & In Praise of Folly (B) présentent Cognitive Models​​​​​​​

Le compositeur et producteur musical islandais Valgeir Sigurðsson touche à tous les genres musicaux : musique de film ou pour la télévision, compositions électroniques, orchestrales, théâtre et danse. Récemment, il a même composé la musique d’un jeu vidéo.
Valgeir a créé le label Bedroom Community en 2006, avec ses amis Nico Muhly et Ben Frost. Non content de produire la plupart des albums du label, l’artiste a aussi à son actif plus de 100 enregistrements d’artistes comme Björk, Feist, Bonnie « Prince » Billy, Ane Brun, Damon Albarn, Anohni et CocoRosie, endossant tour à tour la casquette de producteur, d’arrangeur, d’ingénieur du son ou de performer.
In Praise of Folly est un quatuor à cordes bruxellois dont les musiciens, de formation classique, sont un pur produit de leur génération. En témoigne leur intérêt pour les collaborations et les projets multidisciplinaires.
C’est en cherchant à exploiter les sonorités des cordes dans la musique électronique, que In Praise of Folly a découvert l’œuvre de Valgeir Sigurðsson, notamment ses dernières compositions où les cordes sont présentes. Intrigué par ses textures et sonorités, le quatuor lui a soumis l’idée d’une création commune.
Celle-ci sera présentée en première mondiale lors des BOZAR Electronic Series.

Klara Lewis (Se)
Klara Lewis est une compositrice suédoise née en 1993. « Ett », son premier album, encensé par la critique, est sorti en 2014 aux Editions Mego, un label autrichien. Suivra un EP chez Peder Mannerfelt. 2018 marque le retour de Klara Lewis chez Mego, avec un album enregistré avec Simon Fischer Turner, producteur britannique très prolifique. Lewis compose une musique très personnelle, qui mêle field recording et textures rythmiques abstraites qui se fondent peu à peu pour créer un champ sonore hybride. Son approche est difficile à décrire, mais une chose est sûre : l’artiste a résolument trouvé sa place dans le paysage musical numérique d’avant-garde, avec des sonorités chaudes, sinueuses et très organiques.
 

Voir aussi