17

​​​​​​​​​​​​IncarNations is an exhibition created by the South African artist Kendell Geers in dialogue with the Congolese collector Sindika Dokolo. A fascinating initiative that reflects the diversity of the African artistic heritage, from an Afrocentric point of view and including the itineraries of slaves, colonialism and independence movements. As the Senegalese philosopher Souleymane Bachir Diagne stresses: "Ethnographic museums are a negation of art because they prevent the objects on display from really looking at us. Because ethnography is constituted, at its colonial origins, as a science of what is radically other, it is in its nature to fabricate strangeness, otherness, separateness". Taken from Sindika Dokolo's impressive collection, the works of African artists enter into dialogue with those of the diaspora while contemporary works will be displayed alongside classical works. Incarnations looks at African art as a living philosophical practice.

 

Works by Nick Cave, William Kentridge, Tracey Rose, Wangechi Mutu, Otobong Nkanga, Yinka Shonibare CBE, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Ana Mendieta, Kehinde Wiley, Andres Serrano, Aida Muluneh, Mwangi Hutter, Hank Willis Thomas, Tracey Rose, Adrian Piper, Lubaina Himid, Roger Ballen, Zanele Muholi, Phyllis Galembo and many others.

Did you know?

  • © Caroline Lessire

    Belgian Red Devil player visits BOZAR

    Last May, Belgian Red Devil player and experienced Paris Saint-Germain defender Thomas Meunier paid a visit to BOZAR. This was an opportunity for the star footballer to strengthen his cultural links. 

    read more
    — published on
  • SUMMER TIPS FOR ARTY TRIPS

    Hit the road

    Still looking for a holiday destination that will expand your brain and leave your insta followers gagging? Let BOZAR be your Tripadvisor. Here are 5 ways to travel the globe without leaving Brussels and its Centre for Fine Arts.

    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

17

​​​​​​​IncarNations est une exposition conçue par l'artiste sud-africain Kendell Geers en dialogue avec le collectionneur congolais Sindika Dokolo. Une initiative passionnante qui reflète la diversité des patrimoines esthétiques africains, débarrassés de tout prisme européocentriste et incluant l’influence des diasporas, des itinéraires des esclaves, du colonialisme ou des mouvements d'indépendance. Comme le souligne le philosophe sénégalais Souleymane Bachir Diagne : « Les musées ethnographiques sont une négation de l'art car ils empêchent les objets exposés de nous regarder vraiment. Parce que l'ethnographie s’est constituée, à ses origines coloniales, en tant que science de ce qui est radicalement autre, il appartient à sa nature de fabriquer l'étrangeté, l'altérité, la séparation ». Extraites de l’impressionnante collection de Sindika Dokolo, les productions d’artistes africains résonnent avec celles de la diaspora tandis que des œuvres d'art contemporain seront présentées aux côtés d'œuvres classiques, ouvrant ainsi enfin la voie au dévoilement de l'art africain, compris comme une pratique philosophique vivante.

 

Avec les oeuvres de Nick Cave, William Kentridge, Tracey Rose, Wangechi Mutu, Otobong Nkanga, Yinka Shonibare CBE, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Ana Mendieta, Kehinde Wiley, Andres Serrano, Aida Muluneh, Mwangi Hutter, Hank Willis Thomas, Tracey Rose, Adrian Piper, Lubaina Himid, Roger Ballen, Zanele Muholi, Phyllis Galembo…

Le saviez-vous ?

  • © Caroline Lessire

    Un Diable rouge en visite à BOZAR

    En mai dernier, Thomas Meunier, Diable rouge et défenseur émérite du Paris Saint-Germain, s’est rendu à BOZAR. L’occasion pour le célèbre footballeur de renforcer son lien à la culture. 

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • CET ÉTÉ, BOZAR VOUS EMMÈNE EN VOYAGE.

    En Route !

    Encore à la recherche d’une destination de vacances qui vous ouvrira l’esprit et laissera vos abonnés Instagram bouche bée ? BOZAR devient votre guide touristique. Voici 5 manières de parcourir le monde sans quitter Bruxelles et son Palais des Beaux-Arts.

    — publié le

En cours et à venir

Précédemment