27

This exhibition is closed until 31 December due to current health measures. If you have a ticket, you will find all the necessary information on this page. It is still possible to reserve your time slot, for a visit from 2 January 2021. Take good care of yourself, your family and friends.   
​​​​​​​

250 years after his birth, Ludwig van Beethoven is more than ever an icon. In the midst of all the celebrations to mark his birthday, BOZAR opens the doors of the HOTEL BEETHOVEN. This exhibition about the composer, his music and his ideas will look at how Beethoven remains relevant to us today. An exceptional musical innovator, he also provides a springboard for questions about the democratic and physical power of sound. How can we listen with our bodies when hearing is not an option? If art can change the way in which we see the world, can it also change the way in which we listen? How do visual artists translate sounds and music into images, movements and lines?
From popular culture to conceptual art, from 1770 to 2020, including manuscripts and instruments alongside work by artists such as Antoine Bourdelle, Andy Warhol, Katie Paterson and John Baldessari, HOTEL BEETHOVEN is a time-travelling musical mix of different eras and points of view.
So put down your suitcase and stop for a while to meet people, art and ideas from all over the world around a universal icon. Welcome to HOTEL BEETHOVEN.Exhibition organized in collaboration with the Bundeskunsthalle Bonn in the framework of the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union and the commemoration year BTHVN 2020. Funded by the German Minister of State for Culture and the Media.

Did you know?

  • Hotel Beethoven: A World Theatre

    With a major exhibition, numerous concerts, and a string of talks and literary events, birthday boy Beethoven is definitely the centre of attention at BOZAR this autumn. The ever changing icon is also the subject of 6 radically contemporary visual interpretations by artists from all over the world. The series of short films kicks off with a live-streamed event on September 29, 2020.

    — published on
  • Livestreams

    Beethoven - From Ear to Here

    What do orchestra director Philippe Herreweghe, writer Claudia Durastanti and psychiatrist Dirk De Wachter have in common? Undoubtedly, their passion for Beethoven’s music! The conference series Beethoven. From Ear to Here provides a kaleidoscope of perspectives. From the standpoint of Beethoven and his work, ten leading figures from wide-ranging backgrounds will reflect on the role of art in society, on artist engagement, and on listening and its role in democracy. The multiple viewpoints will give rise to a subjective and nuanced portrait of the German composer, as the world marks his 250th anniversary in 2020. The eight conferences will provide an in-depth look at Beethoven’s iconic stature and put his work into a present-day perspective.

    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

26

Cette exposition est fermée jusqu'au 31 décembre inclus en raison des mesures sanitaires en vigueur. Les personnes en possession d'un ticket trouveront les informations utiles sur cette page. Sachez qu'il vous est d'ores et déjà possible de réserver un créneau horaire pour une visite d'exposition à partir du 2 janvier 2021. Prenez bien soin de vous et de votre entourage.
​​​​​​​

250 ans après sa naissance, Ludwig van Beethoven est plus que jamais une icône. BOZAR s’associe aux nombreuses commémorations en l’honneur de cet anniversaire en ouvrant les portes de l’HOTEL BEETHOVEN. Cette exposition dédiée au compositeur, à sa musique et à ses idées montrera à quel point son œuvre et son action ont gardé toute leur pertinence et restent pour nous une source d’inspiration. Génie musical innovant, Beethoven sert de point de départ à l’exploration de questions sur la puissance démocratique et physique du son. Comment « écouter » avec le corps lorsqu’on ne peut entendre ? On sait que l’art peut changer notre vision du monde, mais peut-il aussi nous faire écouter autrement ? Comment les artistes visuels traduisent-ils les sons et la musique en images, lignes et mouvements ?
HOTEL BEETHOVEN nous fait remonter le temps en musique, pour un voyage à la découverte de différentes époques et idées : de la culture populaire à l’art conceptuel. De 1770 à 2020. Une exposition qui propose également des manuscrits et des instruments ainsi que des œuvres d’artistes comme Antoine Bourdelle, Andy Warhol, Katie Paterson et John Baldessari. 
Nous vous invitons à déposer vos bagages et à faire une pause. L’occasion de découvrir des artistes et des personnalités, mais aussi des œuvres d’art et des idées du monde entier dont la source d’inspiration est cette icône universelle. Bienvenue à l’HOTEL BEETHOVEN.

Exposition organisée en collaboration avec la Bundeskunsthalle de Bonn dans le cadre de la présidence allemande du Conseil de l'Union européenne et de l'année commémorative BTHVN 2020. Financée par le ministre d'État allemand à la Culture et aux Médias.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • HOTEL BEETHOVEN : UN THÉÂTRE DU MONDE

    Avec une grande exposition, de nombreux concerts et une série de conférences et d'événements littéraires, Beethoven, dont c'est le 250e anniversaire de la naissance cette année, sera résolument au centre de l'attention du BOZAR cet automne. Cette icône en constante évolution fait également l'objet de six interprétations visuelles radicalement contemporaines par des artistes du monde entier. La série de courts métrages débutera par un événement en direct le 29 septembre 2020.

    — publié le
  • Livestreams

    Beethoven - From Ear to Here

    Le point commun entre le chef d’orchestre Philippe Herreweghe, l’écrivaine Claudia Durastanti ou le psychiatre Dirk De Wachter ? Sans aucun doute, leur passion pour la musique de Beethoven ! La série de conférences From Ear to Here se présente comme un véritable kaléidoscope. A travers leur regard sur Beethoven, une série de personnalités d’horizons très différents s’interrogent sur le rôle de l’art dans la société, sur l’engagement de l’artiste, sur l’écoute et son rôle dans la démocratie. Cette multiplicité des points de vue dresse un portrait subjectif et nuancé du compositeur allemand dont on fête le 250e anniversaire en 2020. Les huit conférences plongent au cœur de la dimension iconique de Beethoven et mettent en perspective toute l’actualité de son univers.

    — publié le

En cours et à venir

Précédemment