14

Climate change worsens inequality worldwide and this affects women and girls disproportionately. When we talk about the impact of climate change on women, we want to do more than ask for their testimonies of victimhood. From activists in the Amazonia and on the streets of Brussels, to artists creating new utopias or exposing patriarchal worldviews, in the fight for climate justice, women are also agents of change. 


On 8 March, BOZAR, Oxfam België/Belgique and Le Monde Selon les Femmes are gathering a panel of empowered women to celebrate International Women’s Day with a Climate Talk on ecofeminism, addressing the parallels between the oppression of nature and the oppression of women. 


The discussion gathers Laurie Charles (artist), Margot Lauwers (researcher), Jehanne Bergé (journalist for Les Grenades RTBF) and Agnès Bertrand-Sanz (Le Monde Selon les Femmes) around the table. They will virtually be joined by Gabriela Franco Prieto (activist, founder of the digital project @la.totuma on Instagram) and Valiana Aguilar Hernandez (the Suumil collective). They will reflect on the domination of patriarchal structures and their impact on climate change, women and art. 

Did you know?

  • A talk about climate and feminism

    Destroy the patriarchy, not the planet

    On 8 March, BOZAR, Oxfam België/Belgique and Le Monde Selon les Femmes gathered a panel of empowered women to celebrate International Women’s Day with a Climate Talk on ecofeminism, addressing the parallels between the oppression of nature and the oppression of women. (Re)watch the talk here. 

    — published on

06

Le changement climatique aggrave les inégalités mondiales, ce qui affecte de manière disproportionnée les femmes et les filles. Mais alors que nous discutons des impacts du changement climatique sur les femmes, nous ne voulons pas nous contenter de leur demander de témoigner à propos de leur statut de victime. Des activistes amazoniennes ou bruxelloises aux artistes qui créent de nouvelles utopies ou exposent les conceptions patriarcales, les femmes sont aussi des actrices du changement dans la lutte pour la justice climatique.

Le 8 mars, BOZAR, Oxfam België/Belgique et Le Monde Selon les Femmes réuniront quelques femmes émancipées pour célébrer la Journée internationale des droits des femmes avec un débat sur le climat consacré à l’écoféminisme, qui abordera les points communs entre l’oppression de la nature et l’oppression des femmes.

La table ronde réunit Laurie Charles (artiste), Margot Lauwers (chercheuse), Jehanne Bergé (journaliste pour Les Grenades RTBF) et Agnès Bertrand-Sanz (Le Monde Selon les Femmes). Elles seront rejointes virtuellement par Gabriela Franco Prieto (militante, fondatrice du projet numérique @la.totuma sur Instagram) et Valiana Aguilar Hernandez (le collectif Suumil). Elles se pencheront sur la domination des structures patriarcales et leur impact sur le changement climatique, les femmes et l’art.