17

The climate crisis masks extreme inequalities. The wealthiest 10% emit as much CO2 as the poorest 90% of the population. The European Commission’s Green Deal is intended to make Europe the first climate-neutral continent. The Green Deal will only really bring winds of change, rather than a smokescreen, if it is also a social one.


We begin the evening with a keynote speech by economist and anthropologist Dr. Jason Hickel, who tells us why we need a Green Deal without green growth. We will then discuss the EU’s responsibilities towards the victims of climate inequality. 

A panel with Saskia Bricmont (European Parliament), Adélaïde Charlier (Youth4Climate), Marc-Olivier Herman (Oxfam International) and Laurence Tubiana (CEO European Climate Foundation). Moderated by Barbara Debusschere (De Morgen). The conversation will be complemented by video messages from climate activists Vanessa Nakate (Uganda) and Marinel Sumook Ubaldo (Philippines).

 

For the final Q&A Vanessa Nakate, Marinel Sumook Ubaldo and Jason Hickel virtually join the table.

As part of this debate, you can watch the film Welcome to Sodom for free, available throughout the entire day.

Did you know?

  • An exceptional evening on the carbon footprint

    On 18 February, starting at 7 pm, BOZAR is organising an online round table on the European responsibility for carbon dioxide emissions. An evening to be experienced live or to watch again on YouTube.

    — published on

04

La crise climatique cache des inégalités extrêmes : les 10 % les plus riches de la population mondiale émettent en effet autant de CO2 que les 90 % les plus pauvres. Avec son pacte vert pour l’Europe, la Commission européenne entend faire de l’Europe le premier continent climatiquement neutre. Pour faire réellement une différence et ne pas être qu’un écran de fumée, le pacte vert doit donc aussi prendre en compte les aspects sociaux.

 

Nous commencerons la soirée avec un discours de l’économiste et anthropologue Jason Hickel, qui nous expliquera pourquoi nous avons besoin d'un accord vert sans croissance verte. Nous ouvrirons ensuite le débat sur les responsabilités de l’Union européenne à l’égard victimes de l’inégalité climatique.

 

Un panel avec Saskia Bricmont (Députée européenne), Adélaïde Charlier (Youth4Climate), Marc-Olivier Herman (Oxfam International) et Laurence Tubiana (PDG European Climate Foundation). Modéré par Barbara Debusschere (De Morgen). La table-ronde sera complétée par des messages vidéo des militants spécialistes du climat Vanessa Nakate (Ouganda) et Marinel Sumook Ubaldo (Philippines).

 

Pour les questions et réponses de clôture, Vanessa Nakate, Marinel Sumook Ubaldo et Jason Hickel rejoindront virtuellement la table-ronde.

 

Dans le cadre de ce débat, vous pouvez regarder gratuitement le film Welcome to Sodom, accessible toute la journée.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Une soirée exceptionnelle sur l’empreinte carbone

    Ce 18 février, dès 19h, BOZAR organise en ligne une table-ronde autour de la responsabilité européenne dans les émissions de gaz carbonique. Une soirée à vivre en direct ou à revoir sur YouTube.

    — publié le