Slimani + Guez

Writers & Thinkers ’21-’22

Bozar’s stage for talks and debates

Bozar brings a number of exceptional voices from the 21st century to its Writers & Thinkers stage. A richly filled series of talks and debates that take you into in-depth discussions on the cutting edge of art and society. The most important writers and thinkers of tomorrow elaborate on the big themes of today. From democracy to diversity to beauty and consolation.

During early 2022, our stage will turn blue, white and red. The race for the French presidency in April, as well as the French chairmanship of the Council of the European Union present a perfect opportunity for Bozar to hold a whole series of talks in French. Expect encounters with authors and thinkers like Didier Eribon, Constance Debré, Raphaël Glucksmann and Fatou Diome, all of whom are prominent figures in the public debate in France. Olivier Guez returns, after a successful passage at the side of Leila Slimani, with Le Grand tour, a self-portrait of Europe by its writers, in which he brings along, among others, the Polish Agata Tuszyńska and the Dutchman Jan Brokken. Also from the Netherlands, Jewish-Dutch writers Arnon Grunberg, Marcel Möring and Tobi Lakmaker will talk about the cosmopolitan nature of their literary identity. The Cuban poet Víctor Rodríguez Núñez is a guest at Cubalandz.

Furthermore, there will again be debates that address relevant social and artistic themes of today. There is also attention for today's best non-fiction: American journalist George Packer will be talking to us about the challenges facing democracy in his country. We invited two icons from England: classicist, BBC icon and feminist Mary Beard will talk with Thomas Vanderveken and Karen Armstrong will talk about her latest book Sacred Nature. On Europe Day, there will be a promising programme about Europe and its wars, on the occasion of Mayday magazine. Finally, there will be a new edition of the popular Live Magazine, an enriching evening of listening which sees a group of journalists bring a magazine to life through storytelling.  

Would you like to start digging deeper already? You can revisit past talks at any time with our new podcast series.   

Evens Foundation is the privileged partner of this programme.

Slimani + Guez

Writers & Thinkers ’21-’22

Conférences et débats s’invitent sur la scène de Bozar

Dans le cadre de Writers & Thinkers, Bozar donne la parole à quelques voix exceptionnelles du XXIe siècle. Au programme, un très large éventail de lectures et de débats pour nourrir votre réflexion grâce à des échanges sur le fil entre art et société. Et l’occasion, pour les grands auteurs et penseurs de demain de se pencher sur les thématiques majeures d’aujourd’hui. De la démocratie à la diversité, en passant par la beauté et le réconfort.

Durant le printemps 2022, nous hissons le drapeau bleu-blanc-rouge sur notre scène. La course à la présidentielle française, avec les élections en avril, et la présidence française du Conseil de l’Union européenne offrent à Bozar une excellente occasion d’ouvrir cette seconde partie de saison avec une série de présentations et de débats en langue française. Au programme, des rencontres avec des auteur·es français·es parmi lesquel·les Didier Eribon, Constance Debré, Raphaël Glucksmann et Fatou Diome, des personnalités clés du débat public en France. Après une soirée mémorable aux côtés de Leila Slimani, Olivier Guez revient sur notre scène en compagnie de l’auteure polonaise Agata Tuszyńska et de l’écrivain néerlandais Jan Brokken pour Le Grand tour, ouvrage collectif  qui dresse un portrait choral de l’Europe. Les écrivains juifs Arnon Grunberg, Marcel Möring et Tobi Lakmaker, également originaires des Pays-Bas, évoqueront la nature composite de leur identité littéraire. Le poète cubain Víctor Rodríguez Núñez est invité à Cubalandz.

Nous vous proposons aussi des débats autour de thèmes sociétaux et artistiques d’une grande actualité ainsi qu’une immersion dans la meilleure littérature non fictionnelle d'aujourd'hui. Le journaliste américain George Packer nous parlera des défis démocratiques de son pays. Nous aurons également deux invitées de marque venues du Royaume-Uni : Mary Beard, spécialiste de l’Antiquité classique, icône de la BBC et figure du féminisme, conversera avec Thomas Vanderveken, et Karen Armstrong nous parlera de son dernier livre Sacred Nature. À l’occasion de la Journée de l'Europe, il y aura également un événement passionnant sur l'Europe et ses guerres, dans le cadre du Mayday magazine. Et pour terminer, place à une nouvelle édition du Live Magazine, une soirée unique et passionnante réunissant des journalistes qui se succéderont sur scène pour raconter une histoire et fabriquer ainsi un « journal vivant ».

Envie d’entrer déjà dans le vif du sujet ? Grâce à notre nouvelle série de podcastsvous pouvez à tout moment réécouter nos invités.   

Evens Foundation est le partenaire privilégié de ce programme.