16

What is the relationship between art and artificial intelligence (AI)? Can AI become a tool for the contemporary artist? Does AI look at a painting the same way we do?

BOZAR LAB and Gluon brought together AI expert Luc Steels (founder Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, VUB) and world-renowned Belgian painter Luc Tuymans to investigate these questions, in the form of a “scientist in residency” programme (2019-2021).

The exhibition SECRETS presents this ongoing research. Through projections of Tuymans’ work, you will get a better understanding of his creative process and visualise the adaptations that occur when transposing a photograph into a painting.

​​​​​​​Luc Steels and his team at Studio Stelluti have been able to analyse the paintings that were on show during Tuymans’ prestigious 2019 La Pelle exhibition at Venice’s Palazzo Grassi. They used several AI techniques to dive into the artist’s creativity process, and ultimately support Tuymans and other artists in their visual research or artistic decisions.

 

with the collaboration of AI researchers
Sinem Aslan (Ege University, Izmir)
Rachel Rapp (Technical University, Berlin)
Carlo Santagiustina (University of Venice Ca’Foscari)
Luc Steels (Catalan Institute for Advanced Studies ICREA, Barcelona)
Bjorn Wahle (Universitat Politecnica di Catalunya, Barcelona)

Did you know?

  • Enjoy spring break with our exhibitions

    The current health crisis has highlighted the importance of culture for our well-being. The spring break might be an ideal moment to recharge your batteries in one of our exhibitions.

    read more
    — published on
  • BOZAR AT HOME

    LUC TUYMANS AND THE ARTIFICIAL EYE

    What is the relationship between art and artificial intelligence (AI)? Can AI become a tool for the contemporary artist? Does AI look at a painting the way we do? Can AI eventually do the job of a curator? The FLOW-project brings together AI expert Luc Steels (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) and world renowned Belgian painter Luc Tuymans to investigate.

    — published on
  • A new take on Art History through the use of AI

    What is the relationship between art and Artificial Intelligence (AI)? Can AI serve as a tool for contemporary artists? Does it examine a painting like the human eye does? What happens when algorithms examine paintings? What do they see or not see? These are some of the questions that Luc Steels, a specialist in artificial intelligence, and Luc Tuymans, a world-renowned Belgian painter, are trying to answer in the exhibition Secrets. Artificial Intelligence and Luc Tuymans, organised at the end of a two-year scientific residency by BOZAR LAB and Gluon. The exhibition can be visited at the Centre for Fine Arts until 2 May.

    Here you can watch all the videos of the interviews with Luc Steels and Luc Tuymans, recorded in the framework of the exhibition. These interviews are available in English – with Dutch and French subtitles, in full length or in smaller thematic fragments.

    — published on

12

Quel est le lien entre l’art et l’intelligence artificielle (IA) ? L’IA peut-elle se mettre au service de l’artiste contemporain ? L’IA pose-t-elle le même regard sur la peinture que l’homme ?

BOZAR LAB et Gluon ont invité l’expert en IA Luc Steels (fondateur Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, VUB) et le célèbre peintre belge Luc Tuymans à se pencher sur ces questions sous la forme d’un programme de « résidence scientifique » (2019-2021).

​​​​​​​L'exposition SECRETS présente un état des lieux de leurs recherches. Les projections du travail de Luc Tuymans vous permettront de mieux comprendre le processus créatif qui est à l’œuvre et de visualiser les adaptations qui apparaissent dès que l’on transpose une photo dans une peinture.

Luc Steels et son équipe du Studio Stelluti ont pu analyser les peintures présentées lors de la prestigieuse exposition de Luc Tuymans, La Pelle 2019, au Palazzo Grassi de Venise. Ils ont eu recours aux techniques de l’IA pour s’immerger dans le processus créatif de l’artiste et, au bout du compte, aider Tuymans et d'autres artistes dans leurs recherches visuelles ou leurs choix artistiques.

 

Avec la collaboration de chercheurs en IA

Sinem Aslan (Ege University, Izmir)
Rachel Rapp (Technical University, Berlin)
Carlo Santagiustina (University of Venice Ca’Foscari)
Luc Steels (Catalan Institute for Advanced Studies ICREA, Barcelona)
Bjorn Wahle (Universitat Politecnica di Catalunya, Barcelona)

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Profitez des vacances pour vous immerger dans l’art

    Les vacances de printemps vous offrent l’occasion idéale de profiter pleinement de nos expositions !

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • BOZAR AT HOME

    LUC TUYMANS ET L’ŒIL ARTIFICIEL

    Quelle est la relation entre l’art et l’intelligence artificielle (IA) ? L’IA pourrait-elle devenir un outil pour les artistes contemporains ? Sa manière de considérer un tableau est-elle identique à la nôtre ? Serait-elle capable de réaliser le travail d’un commissaire ? Dans le cadre du projet FLOW, l’expert en IA Luc Steels (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) et le peintre belge de renommée mondiale Luc Tuymans se penchent sur la question.

    — publié le
  • Une nouvelle manière d'appréhender l'histoire de l'art via l'intelligence artificielle

    Quelle relation l’art entretient-il avec l’intelligence artificielle ? Celle-ci peut-elle servir d’outil aux artistes contemporains ? Examine-t-elle une peinture comme le fait l’œil humain ? Que se passe-t-il lorsque des algorithmes examinent des peintures ? Que voient-ils ou ne voient-ils pas ? Autant de questions auxquelles tentent de répondre Luc Steels, spécialiste de l’intelligence artificielle, et Luc Tuymans, peintre belge de renommée mondiale, grâce à l’exposition Secrets. L’intelligence artificielle et Luc Tuymans, organisée au terme d’une résidence scientifique de deux ans par BOZAR LAB et Gluon.  L’exposition est à visiter au Palais des Beaux-Arts jusqu’au 2 mai.

    Découvrez ici les vidéos des interviews en anglais – sous-titrées en néerlandais et en français – de Luc Tuymans et Luc Steels, réalisées dans le cadre de cette exposition. À découvrir en version intégrale ou sous forme de capsules thématiques. 

    — publié le