NHK Symphony Orchestra, TokyoPaavo Järvi conductor – Khatia Buniatishvili piano


Clair de lune (Suite bergamasque) Claude Debussy
Homeland Tune (Five Pieces for String Orchestra) Heino Eller


How Slow the Wind Toru Takemitsu
Piano Concerto no. 3, op. 37 Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony no. 2, op. 27 Sergei Rachmaninoff

With the refined orchestral sounds of How slow the wind, Takemitsu renders every corner of the orchestra audible, and that sets the scene for Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto, a virtuoso work of an incomprehensible beauty that perfectly matches the assertive temperament and playing of Khatia Buniatishvili. For a long time, Rachmaninov was unsure of his Second Symphony and his talents as a composer. History disagreed with him, as did the intense interpretation prepared by Paavo Järvi and the prestigious NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo.