Kamus Quartet

Kamus Quartet

String Quartet No. 3: Some Aspects of Peltoniemi Hintrik's Funeral March Aulis Sallinen
String quartet no. 6, op. 35 Karl Wilhelm Stenhammar

Belgian National Orchestra

Belgian National OrchestraMichael Schønwandt conductor – Khatia Buniatishvili piano

Karelia Suite, op. 11 Jean Sibelius
Piano Concerto, op. 16 Edvard Grieg
Symphony no. 4, op. 29, "Inextinguishable" Carl Nielsen


Now here’s an extremely tantalising double bill. The renowned Finnish ensemble, the Kamus Quartet, opens the evening with two works: Stenhammar’s extremely poignant Quartet n° 6 and Aulis Sallinen’s Quartet n° 3 “Some Aspects Of Peltoniemi Hintrik's Funeral March”, a didactic work, composed from a popular Swedish theme, aimed at giving the listener the taste for dissonances. After this intimate beginning it’s time to make way for the Belgian National Orchestra and its special guest, the Georgian pianist Khatia Buniatishvili, for a grand symphonic concert dedicated to the nordic triumvirate of Sibelius, Grieg and Nielsen. 


See also