Belgian National Orchestra

‘Belgian National Orchestra, Wolff & Grubinger’

20 May'22
- 20:00

Austrian Martin Grubinger is one of the most famous percussionists in the world. Many classical composers have composed for him. Frozen in Time is a concerto for percussion and orchestra that the Israeli-American composer Avner Dorman wrote especially for Martin Grubinger in 2007. In addition to this work the Belgian National Orchestra brings Sergey Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances. He wrote this work in 1940 on Long Island (New York), reflecting on his rich and varied life. As an introduction, the brass section of the orchestra will play a piece from the Italian Renaissance written for two  ensembles: Giovanni Gabrieli's Canzon septimi toni.

Belgian National Orchestra
Hugh Wolff
Martin Grubinger
Giovanni Gabrieli

Canzon septimi toni (Sacrae symphoniae)

Avner Dorman

Frozen in Time

Michael Torke


Sergei Rachmaninov

Symphonic Dances, op. 45

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS