Belgian National Orchestra

‘Belgian National Orchestra, Wolff & Khachatryan’

10 Sept.'21
- 20:00

The Belgian National Orchestra is to open its season with the Belgian premiere of These Premises are Alarmed by Thomas Adès. He is the composer in residence and you will discover this season more of his works. The orchestra will then be joined by audience favourite Sergey Khachatryan, winner of the Queen Elisabeth Competition 2005, for a performance of Max Bruch's famous Violin Concerto No 1. The programme will finally close with Brahms' Symphony No 2. After spending 21 years putting the finishing touches to his Symphony No 1, Johannes Brahms composed his Symphony No 2 in the summer of 1877 in barely a few months. The Symphony in D major is, compared with its tragic-sounding predecessor in C minor, particularly light and cheerful and is bathed in a pastoral atmosphere. 

Belgian National Orchestra
Hugh Wolff
Sergey Khachatryan
Thomas Adès

These Premises are Alarmed, op. 16 (Belgian premiere)

Max Bruch

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra no. 1, op. 26

Johannes Brahms

Symphony no. 2, op. 73

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS



46 - 38 - 24 - 10 -


19 - 12 - 10 -