‘Dubbel Brahms’

14 Oct.'19
- 20:00

Lorenzo Gatto - Pieter Wispelwey

Symfonieorkest Vlaanderen
Kristiina Poska – conductor
Lorenzo Gatto – violin
Pieter Wispelwey – cello

Wilhelm Stenhammar 1871–1927
Intermezzo uit ‘Sängen’, op. 44
Johannes Brahms 1833–1897
Concerto voor viool & cello, op. 102 - ‘Dubbelconcerto’
Johannes Brahms 1833–1897
Symfonie nr. 2, op. 73

For the very first time, Lorenzo Gatto and Pieter Wispelwey are brought together on stage in Brahms’ magnificent Double Concerto. Guaranteed to send sparks flying, especially if Kristiina Poska holds the baton. For his Second Symphony, a relaxed Brahms freely allowed himself to be inspired by the beautiful nature that sur­ rounded his Austrian holiday home. An Intermezzo by Stenhammar, also called the ‘Swedish Brahms’, completes the picture.


Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS

20 minutes break included