‘OPRL, Gonzalez-Granados & Ferrández’

20 Jan.'24
- 20:00

Fafchamps: World Premiere - Haydn Cello Concerto 1 & Dvořák 7

A world premiere by Belgian composer Jean-Luc Fafchamps, a refined concerto by Haydn and a Czech symphony form the programme of this evening full of emotions. In his Seventh Symphony, the most dramatic and dark of the nine, Dvořák distances himself from Czech folklore to favour romantic flights modelled on the work of his friend Brahms. Before the symphony, Pablo Ferrández will make his debut with the Liège Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (OPRL). This winner of the Tchaikovsky Competition and an exclusive Sony Classical artist is already seen as the ‘new cello genius’ (Le Figaro).  He will shine in Haydn's First Concerto in C major, whose central adagio proves to be a masterpiece of beauty and elegance.

Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège
Lina Gonzalez-Granados
Pablo Ferrández
Jean-Luc Fafchamps

Creation (co-commissioning Bozar-OPRL) - 2023

Joseph Haydn

Concerto for cello and orchestra no. 1, Hob.VIIb:1

Antonín Dvořák

Symphony no. 7, op. 70

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS



12 - 20 - 30 - 40 -

< 30 year

10 - 15 - 20 -

Card : Preferential Reimbursement / EU Disability

10 - 15 - 20 -