‘Orchestra dell´Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia’

28 Apr.'21
- 20:00

Sir Antonio Pappano - Julia Fischer

It is always a delight to hear Antonio Pappano direct the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. The illustrious conductor and the Roman ensemble combine their talent in a poignant and heartfelt tribute to Russian symphonic music. They combine the overwhelming beauty of Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique Symphony and the dark lyricism of Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto. Although composed half a century apart, these musical scores share a common intensity: one, inspired by the melancholy of existential despair; the other by the yoke of despotism. Violinist Julia Fischer lends her gifted playing to the mournful polyphony and ironic strains of Shostakovich’s masterpiece.

Antonio Pappano
Julia Fischer
Dmitry Shostakovich

Violin Concerto no. 1, op. 77

Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Symphony no. 6, op. 74, "Pathétique"

International Orchestras



International orchestras

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS