‘Sabine Devieilhe & Pygmalion - Bach & Händel’

21 Oct.'21
- 20:00

Having immersed themselves in the music of Mozart, Raphaël Pichon and his Pygmalion ensemble return to their first love: J.S. Bach and his great contemporary, G.F. Handel. For this new project, focusing on sacred works by the former and secular music by the latter, the French ensemble calls on one of the most sought-after voices on the current opera scene, soprano Sabine Devieilhe, whom we will have the pleasure of hearing perform Britten in March 2022. The programme includes two sublime solo cantatas for soprano by Bach: Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut, BWV 199, composed in Weimar in 1714, and the highly virtuoso Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen, BWV 51, written in Leipzig in 1730. For Handel, the French ensemble will perform some deeply moving arias from the opera Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17 and the oratorio Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno, HWV 46a.



Raphaël Pichon


Sabine Devieilhe


Johann Sebastian Bach

Sinfonia (Cantata "Wir müssen durch viel Trübsal", BWV 146

Johann Sebastian Bach

Cantata "Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut", BWV 199

Johann Sebastian Bach

“Ach Gott mein Sohn...Soll mein Kind” (Brockes Passion HWV 48)

Georg Friedrich Händel

Recitativo e Aria "Che sento, o dio... Se pietà" (Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17)

Georg Friedrich Händel

Aria e Recitativo "Hier erstarrt mein Herz und Blut… O Anblick" (Brockes Passion HWV 48)

Johann Sebastian Bach

Aria "Mein Jesu ! Was für Seelenweh", BWV 487

Georg Friedrich Händel

Piangerò la sorte mia (Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17)

Georg Friedrich Händel

“Pure del cielo…Tu del ciel ministro eletto” (Il Trionfo del Tempo e del disinganno)

Johann Sebastian Bach

Cantata "Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen", BWV 51


Secondary Education

Higher Education


Bring Your Students

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS



46 - 38 - 24 - 10 -


19 - 12 - 10 -