Belgian National Orchestra

‘Women's suffrage’

12 Mar.'21
- 20:00

Concert to commemorate 100 years of women's suffrage in Belgium

2021 marks the centenary of a first step towards women’s suffrage in Belgium. In 1921, women – with the exception of “adulterous women and prostitutes” – were granted the right to vote in municipal elections and the right to stand for election in municipal and legislative elections. It was not, however, until 1948 that all Belgian women earned the right to vote and also take part in parliamentary and provincial elections. This anniversary therefore celebrates women’s long struggle for their rights and invites us to continue it in the present.
For this concert, the Belgian National Orchestra invites two of the most impressive Belgian soloists. Soprano Sophie Karthäuser will perform arias by Mozart, and clarinettist Annelien Van Wauwe will play Debussy’s Rhapsody for Clarinet and Orchestra.

Hugh Wolff
Sophie Karthäuser
Annelien Van Wauwe
Jacqueline Fontyn

Au fil des siècles

Claude Debussy

Rapsody, for clarinet and orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Arias to determine

Antonín Dvořák

Symphonie Nr. 6, op. 60

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS