‘Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, Chan, Volodin’

5 May'22
- 20:00

A living legend: that pretty much sums up Martha Argerich. Don't miss the chance to hear her play Poulenc's much-loved Double Concerto for Piano alongside the colourful second suite from Ravel's Daphnis et Chloé, together with the equally unparalleled pianist Polina Leschenko. The musical surprises of the evening are undoubtedly the moving D'un soir triste from 1918 by Lili Boulanger, who died that same year at the tender age of 24, and Poulenc's Sinfonietta, a light-hearted but masterly mini-symphony that, conducted by Elim Chan, guarantees a memorable listening experience.


Regretfully, Martha Argerich had to cancel her concerts with the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra in Belgium and the Netherlands due to health issues. We wish her a quick recovery. Polina Leschenko, who would have joined her in Poulenc’s Double Piano Concerto, has consequently stepped back from this production. We sincerely hope to welcome them both in the coming seasons.

We are delighted and extremely grateful to announce that the brilliant pianist Alexei Volodin – chamber music partner of Sol Gabetta, Janine Jansen, Julian Rachlin and Mischa Maisky among others – will perform at this concert at Bozar. He will perform Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3 instead of Poulenc's Double Concerto. The rest of the programme – D’un soir triste by Lili Boulanger, Sinfonietta by Poulenc and the Suite No. 2 from Daphnis and Chloé by Ravel – remains unchanged.
Such changes shall not entail a refund or exchange.​​​​​​​ Your ticket remains valid.

Antwerp Symphony Orchestra
Elim Chan
Alexei Volodin
Lili Boulanger

D’un soir triste

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Concerto no. 3, op. 37

Francis Poulenc


Maurice Ravel

Daphnis et Chloé, suite no. 2

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS



38 - 28 - 18 - 10 -


14 - 10 - 10 -